My Plan Facts

Pennsylvania › Manufacturing › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Wise Foods Pension Plan

Sponsored by Wise Foods, Inc., Berwick, PA

cash balance pension planfrozen plancollectively bargained

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$21.4Mnet assets, end of plan year−10% on the year
934participants159 active
$22,921net assets per participantsame-size median $86,583
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $10,758

Wise Foods, Inc. of Berwick, Pennsylvania sponsors Wise Foods Pension Plan, a cash balance pension plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 934 participants (159 active) and $21.4M in net assets.

Net assets came to $22,921 per participant, well below the $86,583 median for defined benefit plans with 500 to 999 participants and well below the $67,961 median for defined benefit plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $82K: $87.39 per participant, well below the same-size median of $377. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $251K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $27.7M in 2013 to $21.4M in 2024 (down 23%), and participants from 1,547 to 934 (down 40%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DB plans
Net assets per participant$22,921$86,583$67,961$86,221
Employer contributions per active participant—$10,758$6,915$10,244
Schedule C compensation per participant$87.39$377$299$344
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.38%0.48%0.47%0.42%
Administrative expenses per participant$268$591$498$527

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (873 plans), manufacturing (1,532) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2013: $27.7M2014: $29.8M2015: $28.3M2016: $29.6M2017: $31.4M2018: $27.8M2019: $30.3M2020: $31.2M2021: $31.4M2022: $24.6M2023: $23.7M2024: $21.4M$27.7M$31.4M$21.4M2013201620202024
Net assets at year end
2013: 1,5472014: 1,4852015: 1,3222016: 1,2872017: 1,2532018: 1,2102019: 1,1632020: 1,1222021: 1,0742022: 1,0262023: 9712024: 9341,5479342013201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024934$21.4M$22,921——$82K
2023971$23.7M$24,429——$162K
20221,026$24.6M$24,010——$137K
20211,074$31.4M$29,280——$153K
20201,122$31.2M$27,793$0$0$173K
20191,163$30.3M$26,061$0$0$126K
20181,210$27.8M$22,946$0$0$100K
20171,253$31.4M$25,047$0$0$84K
20161,287$29.6M$22,991$1.5M$0$60K
20151,322$28.3M$21,415$1.5M$0$92K
20141,485$29.8M$20,055$3.1M$0$90K
20131,547$27.7M$17,922$2.1M$0$94K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$23,720,898
  • Employer contributions—
  • Participant contributions—
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$0
  • Total income, including investment results−$109,606
  • Benefits paid$1,952,075
  • Administrative expenses$250,763
  • Total expenses$2,202,838
  • Net income−$2,312,444
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$21,408,454

Participants

  • Active participants159
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits429
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits280
  • Participants with account balances0
  • Total participants, end of year934

Fees and service providers

$82KSchedule C compensation to organisations$82K direct · $0 indirect
$87.39per participantsame-size median $377
0.38%of net assetssame-size median 0.48%
$251Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$268 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator$64,121$0
Pensionmark Financial Group, LLCInvestment advisory (plan)$17,500$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Other administrative expenses$166,042
  • Contract administrator fees$64,121
  • Investment advisory and management fees$20,600
  • Total administrative expenses$250,763

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Pooled separate accounts$21.4M · 100.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the year—

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 1CCash balance or similar plan
  • 1IFrozen plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 311800: Bakeries, Tortilla & Dry Pasta Mfg.

Other plans of Wise Foods, Inc.

PlanParticipantsNet assets
Wise Foods 401(k) Plan995$42.7M

Similar plans in Pennsylvania

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Arkema Inc. Retirement Benefits PlanArkema Inc.950$141M$148,394
Johnson Matthey Inc. Amended and Restated Salaried Employees Pension PlanJohnson Matthey Inc.917$4.9M$5,396
Group Pension Plan for Hourly Employees of Keystone Powdered Metal Co.Keystone Powdered Metal Company950$40.7M$42,846
Wabtec Consolidated Pension PlanWestinghouse Airbrake Technologies Corporation903$51.6M$57,161
Meda and Emd Consolidated Pension PlanMeda Pharmaceuticals Inc.995$61.6M$61,955
Koppers Inc. Retirement PlanKoppers Inc.872$88.8M$101,819

Defined benefit plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Wise Foods Pension Plan?

934 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 159 were active employees, with net assets of $21,408,454. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 873 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Wise Foods, Inc. contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $81,621 in compensation to service provider organisations, $87.39 per participant or 0.38% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $377 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $250,763. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Wise Foods, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Investment advisory or management: Pensionmark Financial Group, LLC. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 51-0370373, plan 002, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.