My Plan Facts

Wisconsin › Manufacturing › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Lesaffre International Corporation Retirement Savings Plan

Sponsored by Lesaffre International Corporation, Milwaukee, WI

401(k) planautomatic enrollment

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$118Mnet assets, end of plan year+8% on the year
881participants631 active
$133,495net assets per participantsame-size median $46,267
$807employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $1,934

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, Lesaffre International Corporation Retirement Savings Plan covered 881 participants and held $118M in net assets. The plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Lesaffre International Corporation of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. It is a multiple-employer plan covering the employees of more than one employer.

Net assets came to $133,495 per participant, well above the $46,267 median for defined contribution plans with 500 to 999 participants and well above the $62,303 median for defined contribution plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $509K during the year, or $807 per active participant against a same-size median of $1,934; participants contributed $5.6M and $2.1M arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $13.2M.

Schedule C lists 4 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $55K: $62.77 per participant, well below the same-size median of $113. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $55K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $24.9M in 2009 to $118M in 2024 (up 372%), and participants from 348 to 881 (up 153%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$133,495$46,267$62,303$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$807$1,934$2,187$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$62.77$113$136$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.05%0.25%0.24%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$62.77$109$131$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), manufacturing (11,377) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $24.9M2010: $28.9M2011: $30.0M2012: $35.3M2013: $43.9M2014: $49.7M2015: $52.0M2016: $55.6M2017: $66.5M2018: $64.1M2019: $81.5M2020: $97.8M2021: $113M2022: $91.3M2023: $109M2024: $118M$24.9M$118M20092012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2009: 3482010: 3572011: 3482012: 3592013: 3592014: 3822015: 4272016: 4642017: 4812018: 5132019: 5462020: 5662021: 5972022: 7352023: 8412024: 88134888120092012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024881$118M$133,495$509K$5.6M$55K
2023841$109M$129,143$3.8M$4.9M$60K
2022735$91.3M$124,210$3.8M$4.1M$93K
2021597$113M$189,439$3.4M$3.7M$77K
2020566$97.8M$172,800$3.3M$3.6M$69K
2019546$81.5M$149,198$3.0M$3.1M$22K
2018513$64.1M$124,865$2.7M$2.9M$29K
2017481$66.5M$138,266$2.5M$2.6M$21K
2016464$55.6M$119,866$2.4M$2.3M$20K
2015427$52.0M$121,778$2.1M$2.0M$16K
2014382$49.7M$129,997$1.9M$1.7M$20K
2013359$43.9M$122,240$1.7M$1.6M$20K
2012359$35.3M$98,446$1.6M$1.4M$20K
2011348$30.0M$86,296$1.5M$1.4M$19K
2010357$28.9M$80,972$1.4M$1.2M$22K
2009348$24.9M$71,546$1.2M$1.1M$16K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$108,609,055
  • Employer contributions$508,949
  • Participant contributions$5,612,280
  • Rollovers and other contributions$2,140,960
  • Total contributions$8,262,189
  • Total income, including investment results$22,057,761
  • Benefits paid$13,153,853
  • Administrative expenses$55,302
  • Total expenses$13,239,911
  • Net income$8,817,850
  • Net transfers$181,859
  • Net assets, end of year$117,608,764

Participants

  • Active participants631
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits6
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits244
  • Participants with account balances881
  • Total participants, end of year881

Fees and service providers

$55KSchedule C compensation to organisations$55K direct · $0 indirect
$62.77per participantsame-size median $113
0.05%of net assetssame-size median 0.25%
$55Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$62.77 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Denali Wealth Management- Carl ValiInvestment advisory (plan)$17,500$0
Vanguard GroupRecordkeeping and information management; Consulting (general); Trustee (bank, trust company, or similar financial institution); Investment advisory (participants); Participant loan processing; Participant communication$15,935$0
Empower Annuity Insurance Company ORecordkeeping fees$11,036$0
Empower Advisory Group, LLCInvestment management$10,831$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Investment advisory and management fees$28,331
  • Recordkeeping fees$26,971
  • Total administrative expenses$55,302

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$114M · 96.8%
  • Common/collective trusts$2.7M · 2.3%
  • Participant loans$1.1M · 0.9%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondNo
  • Blackout period during the yearYes

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 311900: Other Food Mfg (including coffee, tea, flavorings & seasonings).

Similar plans in Wisconsin

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Rice Lake Weighing Systems Employees Profit Sharing Plus PlanRice Lake Weighing Systems, Inc.882$91.7M$103,937
Nature's Way 401(k) PlanSchwabe North America881$120M$136,716
United Stars, Inc. 401(k) PlanUnited Stars, Inc.883$49.3M$55,845
Arandell Corporation 401(k) Savings PlanArandell Corporation866$48.4M$55,913
Wolter Inc. Salary Savings PlanWolter, Inc.885$48.0M$54,203
Trilliant Food & Nutrition 401(k) PlanTrilliant Food & Nutrition, LLC862$26.3M$30,490

Defined contribution plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Lesaffre International Corporation Retirement Savings Plan?

881 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 631 were active employees, with net assets of $117,608,764. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Lesaffre International Corporation contribute per participant?

The filing reports $508,949 in employer contributions for the year, which is $807 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $1,934 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $55,302 in compensation to service provider organisations, $62.77 per participant or 0.05% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $113 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $55,302. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Lesaffre International Corporation. Recordkeeping or administration: Vanguard Group and Empower Annuity Insurance Company O. Investment advisory or management: Denali Wealth Management- Carl Vali, Vanguard Group and Empower Advisory Group, LLC. Trustee or custodian: Vanguard Group. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 98-0042186, plan 333, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.