My Plan Facts

Michigan › Manufacturing › 1,000 to 4,999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

ZF Passive Safety US Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan

Sponsored by ZF Passive Safety US Inc., Washington, MI

401(k) planautomatic enrollmentfirst return

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$299Mnet assets, end of plan year
1,309participants1,047 active
$228,271net assets per participantsame-size median $50,295
$1,288employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,045

ZF Passive Safety US Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by ZF Passive Safety US Inc. of Washington, Michigan. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 it reported 1,309 participants, 1,047 of them active, and net assets of $299M.

Net assets came to $228,271 per participant, well above the $50,295 median for defined contribution plans with 1,000 to 4,999 participants and well above the $62,303 median for defined contribution plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $1.3M during the year, or $1,288 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,045; participants contributed $2.2M and $24K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $1.6M.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $29K: $22.30 per participant, well below the same-size median of $82.08. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $29K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$228,271$50,295$62,303$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$1,288$2,045$2,187$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$22.30$82.08$136$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.01%0.17%0.24%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$22.26$82.20$131$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 1,000 to 4,999 participants (10,207 plans), manufacturing (11,377) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$0
  • Employer contributions$1,348,232
  • Participant contributions$2,226,379
  • Rollovers and other contributions$24,424
  • Total contributions$3,599,035
  • Total income, including investment results$1,658,424
  • Benefits paid$1,605,853
  • Administrative expenses$29,142
  • Total expenses$1,634,995
  • Net income$23,429
  • Net transfers$298,783,221
  • Net assets, end of year$298,806,650

Participants

  • Active participants1,047
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits1
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits260
  • Participants with account balances1,299
  • Total participants, end of year1,309

Fees and service providers

$29KSchedule C compensation to organisations$29K direct · $0 indirect
$22.30per participantsame-size median $82.08
0.01%of net assetssame-size median 0.17%
$29Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$22.26 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Strategic Advisors, Inc.Investment advisory (plan)$26,992$0
Fidelity Investments InstitutionalSub-transfer agency fees; Recordkeeping fees; Account maintenance fees; Securities brokerage commissions and fees$2,200$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Investment advisory and management fees$26,992
  • Recordkeeping fees$2,150
  • Total administrative expenses$29,142

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$168M · 56.3%
  • Common/collective trusts$111M · 37.1%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$9.9M · 3.3%
  • Corporate stocks$6.2M · 2.1%
  • Participant loans$2.6M · 0.9%
  • U.S. Government securities$1.1M · 0.4%
  • Other investments$15K · 0.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)No
  • Accounting firmPlante Moran
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $3,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 336100: Motor Vehicle Mfg.

Similar plans in Michigan

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Norma Group USA Retirement Savings PlanNorma Michigan, Inc.1,310$81.2M$61,974
Burke Porter Group Retirement and Savings PlanBPG Americas Inc.1,291$108M$83,970
Fisher & Company, Incorporated 401(k) PlanFisher & Company, Incorporated1,313$71.9M$54,729
Michigan Sugar Company 401(k) Savings PlanMichigan Sugar Company1,283$91.3M$71,151
Stahls' Inc. Employees' Salary Savings PlanStahls' Inc.1,315$71.8M$54,604
Inteva Products, LLC Salaried Employees' Savings and Retirement PlanInteva Products, LLC1,275$141M$110,619

Defined contribution plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is ZF Passive Safety US Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan?

1,309 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 1,047 were active employees, with net assets of $298,806,650. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 1,000 to 4,999 participants band, which held 10,207 plans in plan year 2024.

What does ZF Passive Safety US Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $1,348,232 in employer contributions for the year, which is $1,288 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,045 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $29,192 in compensation to service provider organisations, $22.30 per participant or 0.01% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $82.08 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $29,142. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is ZF Passive Safety US Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Fidelity Investments Institutional. Investment advisory or management: Strategic Advisors, Inc.. The financial statements were audited by Plante Moran. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 13 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 34-1758354, plan 001, received 13 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.