New York › Manufacturing › 1,000 to 4,999 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025
Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund
Sponsored by Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund, New York, NY
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
In the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025, Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund covered 1,192 participants and held $159M in net assets. The plan is a defined benefit pension plan sponsored by Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund of New York, New York. It is a multiemployer plan, maintained under collective bargaining agreements with more than one employer.
Net assets came to $133,079 per participant, well above the $87,935 median for defined benefit plans with 1,000 to 4,999 participants and well above the $67,961 median for defined benefit plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.
Employer contributions were $229K for the year ($12,746 per active participant) and benefits paid were $12.9M. In a defined benefit plan the employer's contribution follows funding rules rather than a match formula, so it can swing widely from year to year.
Schedule C lists 8 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $517K: $433 per participant, well above the same-size median of $325. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $696K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.
Across the filings on record, net assets went from $147M in 2009 to $159M in 2024 (up 8%), and participants from 2,158 to 1,192 (down 45%).
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DB plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | $133,079 | $87,935 | $67,961 | $86,221 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | $12,746 | $10,593 | $6,915 | $10,244 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | $433 | $325 | $299 | $344 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | 0.33% | 0.41% | 0.47% | 0.42% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | $584 | $513 | $498 | $527 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 1,000 to 4,999 participants (1,540 plans), manufacturing (1,532) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Trend by plan year
| Plan year | Participants | Net assets | Per participant | Employer contributions | Participant contributions | Schedule C compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 1,192 | $159M | $133,079 | $229K | — | $517K |
| 2023 | 1,238 | $94.7M | $76,455 | $227K | — | $520K |
| 2022 | 1,291 | $91.1M | $70,548 | $215K | — | $661K |
| 2021 | 1,344 | $98.2M | $73,033 | $216K | — | $573K |
| 2020 | 1,425 | $125M | $87,571 | $161K | — | $606K |
| 2019 | 1,479 | $117M | $79,182 | $188K | — | $640K |
| 2018 | 1,559 | $123M | $78,803 | $227K | — | $712K |
| 2017 | 1,611 | $132M | $81,989 | $278K | — | $940K |
| 2016 | 1,762 | $134M | $76,096 | $227K | — | $880K |
| 2015 | 1,793 | $134M | $74,764 | $225K | — | $910K |
| 2014 | 1,807 | $136M | $75,073 | $238K | — | $989K |
| 2013 | 1,872 | $149M | $79,787 | $385K | — | $880K |
| 2012 | 1,950 | $145M | $74,338 | $458K | — | $785K |
| 2011 | 2,026 | $144M | $71,195 | $971K | — | $1.2M |
| 2010 | 2,081 | $135M | $65,042 | $244K | — | $1.1M |
| 2009 | 2,158 | $147M | $68,008 | $304K | — | $876K |
Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.
Statement for the year
- Net assets, beginning of year$94,651,223
- Employer contributions$229,434
- Participant contributions—
- Rollovers and other contributions—
- Total contributions$229,434
- Total income, including investment results$77,620,488
- Benefits paid$12,945,623
- Administrative expenses$696,155
- Total expenses$13,641,778
- Net income$63,978,710
- Net transfers$0
- Net assets, end of year$158,629,933
Participants
- Active participants18
- Retired or separated, receiving benefits702
- Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits162
- Total participants, end of year1,192
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prudential Trust Co. | Investment management | $140,996 | $0 |
| Ala Local 1L | Claims processing; Recordkeeping and information management | $135,260 | $0 |
| Prudential Insurance Co. | Investment management | $76,033 | $0 |
| Quan-Vest Consultants Inc. | Investment advisory (plan) | $61,998 | $0 |
| First Actuarial Consulting Inc. | Actuarial | $47,500 | $0 |
| Rogoff & Company PC | Accounting (including auditing) | $28,043 | $0 |
| Invesco | Investment management fees paid directly by plan | $13,719 | $0 |
| Mbsii.net LLC | Consulting (general) | $13,000 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Administrative expenses on Schedule H
- Investment advisory and management fees$339,183
- Other administrative expenses$244,791
- Actuarial fees$47,500
- Legal fees$36,638
- IQPA audit fees$28,043
- Total administrative expenses$696,155
Investment structure
Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.
- Common/collective trusts$77.9M · 49.1%
- Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$62.4M · 39.3%
- Pooled separate accounts$12.0M · 7.5%
- Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$5.7M · 3.6%
- Receivables$721K · 0.5%
- Other investments$39K · 0.0%
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
- Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $1,000,000
- Blackout period during the yearNo
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
1BBenefits are primarily flat dollar (includes dollars per year of service)
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 323100: Printing & Related Support Activities.
Similar plans in New York
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schott Corporation Pension Plan | Schott Corporation | 1,237 | $81.2M | $65,681 |
| The Raymond Corporation Pension Plan | The Raymond Corporation | 1,127 | $128M | $113,678 |
| The Steinway Musical Pension Plan | Steinway Musical Instruments, Inc. | 1,306 | $61.1M | $46,752 |
| Local 1922 Pension Fund | Board of Trustees of the Local 1922 Pension Fund | 1,039 | $7.9M | $7,568 |
| Minerals Technologies Inc. Retirement Plan | Minerals Technologies Inc. | 1,421 | $183M | $128,637 |
| Local 447 Pension Fund | Local 447 Pension Fund Board of Trustees | 924 | −$36.9M | — |
Defined benefit plans in manufacturing closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund?
1,192 participants at the end of the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025, of whom 18 were active employees, with net assets of $158,629,933. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 1,000 to 4,999 participants band, which held 1,540 plans in plan year 2024.
What does Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund contribute per participant?
The filing reports $229,434 in employer contributions for the year, which is $12,746 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $10,593 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
Schedule C reports $516,549 in compensation to service provider organisations, $433 per participant or 0.33% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $325 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $696,155. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is Pressroom Unions Pension Trust Fund. Recordkeeping or administration: Ala Local 1L. Investment advisory or management: Prudential Trust Co., Prudential Insurance Co. and Quan-Vest Consultants Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Jul 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 13-6152896, plan 001, received 15 Jul 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.