My Plan Facts

Michigan › Professional, scientific and technical services › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Arotech 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by Arotech Corporation, Ann Arbor, MI

401(k) planautomatic enrollment

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$89.0Mnet assets, end of plan year+18% on the year
754participants555 active
$118,032net assets per participantsame-size median $46,267
$3,288employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $1,934

Arotech Corporation of Ann Arbor, Michigan sponsors Arotech 401(k) Plan, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 754 participants (555 active) and $89.0M in net assets.

Net assets came to $118,032 per participant, well above the $46,267 median for defined contribution plans with 500 to 999 participants and well above the $73,951 median for defined contribution plans in professional, scientific and technical services. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $1.8M during the year, or $3,288 per active participant against a same-size median of $1,934; participants contributed $4.1M and $464K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $3.9M.

Schedule C lists 6 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $381K: $505 per participant, well above the same-size median of $113. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $272K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $8.6M in 2010 to $89.0M in 2024 (up 940%), and participants from 258 to 754 (up 192%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$118,032$46,267$73,951$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$3,288$1,934$3,219$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$505$113$148$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.43%0.25%0.22%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$361$109$140$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), professional, scientific and technical services (9,776) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2010: $8.6M2011: $9.1M2012: $11.2M2013: $14.4M2014: $19.6M2015: $20.4M2016: $22.1M2017: $26.9M2018: $25.7M2019: $31.4M2020: $35.0M2021: $68.8M2022: $66.7M2023: $75.3M2024: $89.0M$8.6M$89.0M20102012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2010: 2582011: 2482012: 2332013: 2702014: 2802015: 4232016: 4072017: 4002018: 3822019: 4192020: 3942021: 5912022: 7292023: 7482024: 75425875420102012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024754$89.0M$118,032$1.8M$4.1M$381K
2023748$75.3M$100,664$1.8M$3.9M$330K
2022729$66.7M$91,547$2.1M$3.6M$196K
2021591$68.8M$116,448$1.7M$2.5M$262K
2020394$35.0M$88,921$876K$1.9M$154K
2019419$31.4M$74,845$868K$2.0M$56K
2018382$25.7M$67,377$806K$1.8M$1,000
2017400$26.9M$67,258$737K$1.6M$1,000
2016407$22.1M$54,344$675K$1.4M$0
2015423$20.4M$48,203$743K$1.5M$0
2014280$19.6M$69,896$409K$912K$0
2013270$14.4M$53,356$368K$790K$0
2012233$11.2M$48,009$356K$763K$0
2011248$9.1M$36,714$349K$755K$0
2010258$8.6M$33,182$231K$690K$0

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$75,297,433
  • Employer contributions$1,825,108
  • Participant contributions$4,083,656
  • Rollovers and other contributions$464,487
  • Total contributions$6,373,251
  • Total income, including investment results$17,801,438
  • Benefits paid$3,875,251
  • Administrative expenses$272,402
  • Total expenses$4,156,855
  • Net income$13,644,583
  • Net transfers$54,025
  • Net assets, end of year$88,996,041

Participants

  • Active participants555
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits4
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits195
  • Participants with account balances726
  • Total participants, end of year754

Fees and service providers

$381KSchedule C compensation to organisations$265K direct · $116K indirect
$505per participantsame-size median $113
0.43%of net assetssame-size median 0.25%
$272Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$361 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Empower Annuity Insurance CompanyRecordkeeping fees$176,258$0
Linsco/private Ledger Corp.Other commissions$0$116,068
LPL FinancialInvestment advisory (plan)$40,693$0
Watkins, Ross & Co.Contract Administrator$19,256$0
Empower Advisory Group, LLCInvestment management$17,484$0
Stelmack Dobransky & Eannace, LLCAccounting (including auditing)$11,000$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$272,402
  • Total administrative expenses$272,402

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$60.9M · 68.5%
  • Common/collective trusts$26.7M · 30.0%
  • Participant loans$749K · 0.8%
  • Receivables$544K · 0.6%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$100K · 0.1%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 3FPlan sponsor(s) received services of leased employees
  • 3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 541330: Engineering Services.

Similar plans in Michigan

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Urban Science Applications, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanUrban Science Applications, Inc.758$161M$212,750
Ghafari Companies 401(k) PlanGhafari Associates, LLC746$107M$142,881
Shift Digital Retirement Savings PlanShift, PPC, LLC783$37.9M$48,408
Hirotec America, Inc. 401(k) PlanHirotec America, Inc.727$67.9M$93,367
Service Express, LLC 401(k) PlanService Express, LLC783$61.7M$78,748
Infotree Global Solutions Corp. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan & TrustInfotree Global Solutions Corp.722$2.0M$2,726

Defined contribution plans in professional, scientific and technical services closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Arotech 401(k) Plan?

754 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 555 were active employees, with net assets of $88,996,041. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Arotech Corporation contribute per participant?

The filing reports $1,825,108 in employer contributions for the year, which is $3,288 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $1,934 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $380,759 in compensation to service provider organisations, $505 per participant or 0.43% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $113 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $272,402. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Arotech Corporation. Recordkeeping or administration: Empower Annuity Insurance Company and Watkins, Ross & Co.. Investment advisory or management: LPL Financial and Empower Advisory Group, LLC. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 13 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 95-4302784, plan 002, received 13 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.