My Plan Facts

California › Educational services › 250 to 499 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jul 2020 to 30 Jun 2021

Fairmont Schools, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan

Sponsored by Fairmont Schools, Inc., Anaheim, CA

401(k) planplan year 2025 filing

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$25.9Mnet assets, end of plan year+18% on the year
447participants356 active
$57,953net assets per participantsame-size median $46,267
$229employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $1,934

Fairmont Schools, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Fairmont Schools, Inc. of Anaheim, California. For the plan year ending 30 Jun 2021 it reported 447 participants, 356 of them active, and net assets of $25.9M.

Net assets came to $36,610 per participant in plan year 2024, well below the $46,267 median for defined contribution plans with 500 to 999 participants and well below the $73,018 median for defined contribution plans in educational services. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $82K during the year, or $229 per active participant against a same-size median of $1,934; participants contributed $1.1M and $11K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $2.6M.

Schedule C lists 7 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $135K: $302 per participant, close to the same-size median of $113. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $93K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $6.6M in 2009 to $25.9M in 2025 (up 290%), and participants from 377 to 447 (up 19%).

Compared with similar plans

Measure, plan year 2024This planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$36,610$46,267$73,018$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$870$1,934$2,838$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$113$113$95.66$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.31%0.25%0.13%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$113$109$89.26$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), educational services (2,753) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $6.6M2010: $7.9M2011: $8.2M2012: $9.7M2013: $11.2M2014: $12.5M2015: $13.4M2016: $15.9M2017: $17.9M2019: $21.9M2020: $20.1M2021: $21.6M2022: $24.0M2023: $27.2M2024: $32.5M2025: $25.9M$6.6M$32.5M$25.9M200920122016202020242025
Net assets at year end
2009: 3772010: 3812011: 4062012: 4072013: 4042014: 4072015: 4102016: 4052017: 4142019: 4072020: 4212021: 5012022: 5432023: 5382024: 8892025: 447377889447200920122016202020242025
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2025447$25.9M$57,953$82K$1.1M$135K
2024889$32.5M$36,611$675K$1.6M$101K
2023538$27.2M$50,532$680K$1.5M$75K
2022543$24.0M$44,138$517K$1.3M$147K
2021501$21.6M$43,150$251K$1.1M$147K
2020421$20.1M$47,857$286K$1.0M$38K
2019407$21.9M$53,828$368K$1.4M$99K
2017414$17.9M$43,138$310K$1.1M$33K
2016405$15.9M$39,165$302K$1.0M$30K
2015410$13.4M$32,795$295K$1.1M$14K
2014407$12.5M$30,700$261K$880K$5,000
2013404$11.2M$27,686$228K$740K$7,000
2012407$9.7M$23,720$232K$750K$7,000
2011406$8.2M$20,222$220K$720K$16K
2010381$7.9M$20,682$55K$674K$21K
2009377$6.6M$17,615$52K$659K$19K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$21,907,813
  • Employer contributions$81,701
  • Participant contributions$1,124,177
  • Rollovers and other contributions$11,160
  • Total contributions$1,217,038
  • Total income, including investment results$6,828,325
  • Benefits paid$2,648,363
  • Administrative expenses$93,012
  • Total expenses$2,831,149
  • Net income$3,997,176
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$25,904,989

Participants

  • Active participants356
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits4
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits87
  • Participants with account balances281
  • Total participants, end of year447

Fees and service providers

$135KSchedule C compensation to organisations$93K direct · $42K indirect
$302per participantsame-size median $113
0.52%of net assetssame-size median 0.25%
$93Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$208 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co.Other services$93,012$0
SageView Advisory Group LLCInvestment advisory (plan)$0$42,186
American FundsInvestment management fees paid indirectly by plan$0$0
MFS Investment ManagementInvestment management fees paid indirectly by plan$0$0
Pgim InvestmentsInvestment management fees paid indirectly by plan$0$0
VanguardInvestment management fees paid indirectly by plan$0$0
VictoryInvestment management fees paid indirectly by plan$0$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Investment advisory and management fees$87,848
  • Contract administrator fees$5,164
  • Total administrative expenses$93,012

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$21.1M · 81.5%
  • Insurance company general account$4.6M · 17.9%
  • Participant loans$143K · 0.6%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted late—
  • Covered by a fidelity bondNo
  • Blackout period during the year—

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 611000: Educational Services (including schools, colleges, & universities).

Similar plans in California

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Southern California University of Health Sciences Money Purchase Pension PlanSo Calif University of Health Sciences448$15.5M$34,676
The Head-Royce School 403(b) PlanThe Head-Royce School447$89.0M$199,175
Ucp of the North Bay, Inc. 403(b) Retirement PlanUnited Cerebral Palsy of the North Bay, Inc.448$8.6M$19,161
Khan Academy, Inc. 401(k) Safe Harbor PlanKhan Academy, Inc.445$41.4M$92,935
Roessler Chadwick Foundation DBA Chadwick School Retirement PlanRoessler Chadwick Foundation453$63.5M$140,085
Oaks Christian School 403(b) PlanOaks Christian School443$40.9M$92,386

Defined contribution plans in educational services closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Fairmont Schools, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan?

447 participants at the end of the plan year ending 30 Jun 2021, of whom 356 were active employees, with net assets of $25,904,989. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Fairmont Schools, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $81,701 in employer contributions for the year, which is $229 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $1,934 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $135,198 in compensation to service provider organisations, $302 per participant or 0.52% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $113 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $93,012. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Fairmont Schools, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co.. Investment advisory or management: SageView Advisory Group LLC. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jul 2020 to 30 Jun 2021, received by the Department of Labor on 15 May 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 95-3046467, plan 002, received 15 May 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.