My Plan Facts

Connecticut › Health care and social assistance › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Waterbury Hospital Cash Balance Retirement Plan

Sponsored by Prospect Waterbury, Inc., Waterbury, CT

cash balance pension planfrozen plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$21.0Mnet assets, end of plan year−4% on the year
995participants317 active
$21,140net assets per participantsame-size median $86,583
$2,600employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $10,758

Waterbury Hospital Cash Balance Retirement Plan is a cash balance pension plan sponsored by Prospect Waterbury, Inc. of Waterbury, Connecticut. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 it reported 995 participants, 317 of them active, and net assets of $21.0M.

Net assets came to $21,140 per participant, well below the $86,583 median for defined benefit plans with 500 to 999 participants and well below the $62,049 median for defined benefit plans in health care and social assistance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Employer contributions were $824K for the year ($2,600 per active participant) and benefits paid were $1.8M. In a defined benefit plan the employer's contribution follows funding rules rather than a match formula, so it can swing widely from year to year.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $271K: $273 per participant, well below the same-size median of $377. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $909K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $24.9M in 2016 to $21.0M in 2024 (down 15%), and participants from 1,369 to 995 (down 27%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DB plans
Net assets per participant$21,140$86,583$62,049$86,221
Employer contributions per active participant$2,600$10,758$7,491$10,244
Schedule C compensation per participant$273$377$248$344
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets1.3%0.48%0.39%0.42%
Administrative expenses per participant$913$591$427$527

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (873 plans), health care and social assistance (542) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2016: $24.9M2017: $26.3M2018: $24.4M2019: $26.0M2020: $27.5M2021: $25.6M2023: $21.9M2024: $21.0M$24.9M$27.5M$21.0M2016201820202024
Net assets at year end
2016: 1,3692017: 1,3482018: 1,2942019: 1,2582020: 1,2452021: 1,1772023: 9922024: 9951,3699952016201820202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024995$21.0M$21,141$824K—$271K
2023992$21.9M$22,109$728K—$209K
20211,177$25.6M$21,773$1.5M—$188K
20201,245$27.5M$22,118$1.8M$0$190K
20191,258$26.0M$20,688$2.4M$0$733K
20181,294$24.4M$18,853$810K$0$161K
20171,348$26.3M$19,545$3.4M$0$220K
20161,369$24.9M$18,161$3.0M$0$98K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$21,932,498
  • Employer contributions$824,346
  • Participant contributions—
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$824,346
  • Total income, including investment results$1,837,890
  • Benefits paid$1,827,316
  • Administrative expenses$908,510
  • Total expenses$2,735,826
  • Net income−$897,936
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$21,034,562

Participants

  • Active participants317
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits166
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits504
  • Participants with account balances0
  • Total participants, end of year995

Fees and service providers

$271KSchedule C compensation to organisations$271K direct · $0 indirect
$273per participantsame-size median $377
1.3%of net assetssame-size median 0.48%
$909Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$913 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator$195,258$0
BDOAccounting (including auditing)$52,624$0
Groom Law Group, CharteredLegal$23,319$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Other administrative expenses$637,309
  • Contract administrator fees$195,258
  • IQPA audit fees$52,624
  • Legal fees$23,319
  • Total administrative expenses$908,510

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Pooled separate accounts$19.7M · 93.9%
  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$1.3M · 6.1%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $2,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 1CCash balance or similar plan
  • 1HPlan covered by PBGC that was terminated and closed out for PBGC purposes
  • 1IFrozen plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 622000: Hospitals.

Similar plans in Connecticut

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Connecticut Health Care Associates Pension FundConnecticut Health Care Associates Pension Fund1,091$83.5M$76,560
Employees' Retirement Plan of Gaylord Hospital, Inc.Gaylord Hospital, Inc.312$26.2M$84,089
Eastern Connecticut Health Network, Inc. Pension PlanProspect Echn, Inc.1,527$74.2M$48,570
Defined Benefit Pension Plan of Catholic Charities Inc. - Archdiocese of HartfordCatholic Charities, Inc. Archdiocese of Hartford215$5.6M$26,204
Vassar Brothers Hospital Pension PlanVassar Brothers Hospital1,743$139M$79,479
Jewish Home for the Elderly Defined Benefit Pension PlanThe Jewish Home for the Elderly144$22K$154

Defined benefit plans in health care and social assistance closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Waterbury Hospital Cash Balance Retirement Plan?

995 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 317 were active employees, with net assets of $21,034,562. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 873 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Prospect Waterbury, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $824,346 in employer contributions for the year, which is $2,600 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $10,758 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $271,201 in compensation to service provider organisations, $273 per participant or 1.3% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $377 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $908,510. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Prospect Waterbury, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 13 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 81-2181470, plan 005, received 13 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.