My Plan Facts

Texas › Arts, entertainment and recreation › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025

San Antonio Zoological Society Employees' Savings Plan

Sponsored by San Antonio Zoological Society, San Antonio, TX

403(b) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$7.9Mnet assets, end of plan year+14% on the year
633participants581 active
$12,515net assets per participantsame-size median $46,267
$178employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $1,934

In the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025, San Antonio Zoological Society Employees' Savings Plan covered 633 participants and held $7.9M in net assets. The plan is a 403(b) plan sponsored by San Antonio Zoological Society of San Antonio, Texas.

Net assets came to $12,515 per participant, well below the $46,267 median for defined contribution plans with 500 to 999 participants and well below the $37,341 median for defined contribution plans in arts, entertainment and recreation. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $104K during the year, or $178 per active participant against a same-size median of $1,934; participants contributed $418K and $522K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $909K.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $78K: $124 per participant, above the same-size median of $113. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $54K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $130K in 2009 to $7.9M in 2024 (up 5994%), and participants from 282 to 633 (up 124%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$12,515$46,267$37,341$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$178$1,934$1,567$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$124$113$89.78$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.99%0.25%0.27%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$84.79$109$83.28$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), arts, entertainment and recreation (1,025) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $130K2010: $238K2011: $687K2012: $1.1M2013: $1.4M2014: $1.7M2015: $2.1M2016: $2.7M2017: $3.3M2018: $3.7M2019: $4.6M2020: $5.8M2021: $4.8M2022: $5.5M2023: $7.0M2024: $7.9M$130K$7.9M20092012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2009: 2822010: 3092011: 3402012: 3692013: 3822014: 4522015: 5162016: 5452017: 6222018: 6332019: 6712020: 6552021: 6432022: 5772023: 4282024: 63328267163320092012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024633$7.9M$12,515$104K$418K$78K
2023428$7.0M$16,238$57K$494K$70K
2022577$5.5M$9,582$196K$502K$30K
2021643$4.8M$7,504$51K$364K$24K
2020655$5.8M$8,849$252K$389K$24K
2019671$4.6M$6,805$258K$336K$20K
2018633$3.7M$5,877$282K$311K$16K
2017622$3.3M$5,225$230K$262K$15K
2016545$2.7M$5,013$199K$208K$12K
2015516$2.1M$4,143$217K$220K$9,000
2014452$1.7M$3,675$227K$218K$3,000
2013382$1.4M$3,788$205K$152K$4,000
2012369$1.1M$3,008$210K$164K$3,000
2011340$687K$2,021$236K$166K$2,000
2010309$238K$770—$99K$0
2009282$130K$461—$79K$0

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$6,950,096
  • Employer contributions$103,535
  • Participant contributions$418,122
  • Rollovers and other contributions$522,277
  • Total contributions$1,043,934
  • Total income, including investment results$1,934,940
  • Benefits paid$909,438
  • Administrative expenses$53,671
  • Total expenses$963,109
  • Net income$971,831
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$7,921,927

Participants

  • Active participants581
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits52
  • Participants with account balances209
  • Total participants, end of year633

Fees and service providers

$78KSchedule C compensation to organisations$54K direct · $25K indirect
$124per participantsame-size median $113
0.99%of net assetssame-size median 0.25%
$54Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$84.79 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator$53,670$0
Pensionmark Financial Group, LLCInvestment advisory (plan)$0$24,605
Morningstar Investment Management LInvestment advisory (participants)$0$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$53,671
  • Total administrative expenses$53,671

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$7.9M · 100.0%
  • Insurance company general account$2,736 · 0.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateYes, $57,181
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2LCode section 403(b)(1) arrangement (annuity contracts)
  • 2MCode section 403(b)(7) accounts (custodial accounts for regulated investment company stock)
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 712100: Museums, Historical Sites, & Similar Institutions.

Similar plans in Texas

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Ydsp Entertainment DBA Speaking Rock Entertainment Center 401(k) PlanYdsp Entertainment DBA Speaking Rock Entertainment Center639$14.4M$22,607
Houston Zoo Employees' 401(k) PlanHouston Zoo, Inc.631$28.2M$44,732
The Pga of America 401(k) Retirement PlanThe Professional Golfers' Association of America644$71.0M$110,171
Fort Worth Zoological Association Savings PlanFort Worth Zoological Association587$19.2M$32,682
Houston Ballet Foundation Retirement PlanHouston Ballet Foundation651$23.0M$35,278
Forever Orange 401(k) PlanForever Orange, LLC565$5.5M$9,788

Defined contribution plans in arts, entertainment and recreation closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is San Antonio Zoological Society Employees' Savings Plan?

633 participants at the end of the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025, of whom 581 were active employees, with net assets of $7,921,927. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.

What does San Antonio Zoological Society contribute per participant?

The filing reports $103,535 in employer contributions for the year, which is $178 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $1,934 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $78,275 in compensation to service provider organisations, $124 per participant or 0.99% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $113 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $53,671. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is San Antonio Zoological Society. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Investment advisory or management: Pensionmark Financial Group, LLC and Morningstar Investment Management L. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 11 Jun 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 74-1323695, plan 002, received 11 Jun 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.