My Plan Facts

Ohio › Retail trade › 250 to 499 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 4 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc. 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc., Columbus, OH

401(k) planfirst return

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$103Knet assets, end of plan year
466participants441 active
$221net assets per participantsame-size median $48,746
$70employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,017

Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc. 401(k) Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc. of Columbus, Ohio. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 it reported 466 participants, 441 of them active, and net assets of $103K.

Net assets came to $221 per participant, well below the $48,746 median for defined contribution plans with 250 to 499 participants and well below the $36,708 median for defined contribution plans in retail trade. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $31K during the year, or $70 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,017; participants contributed $74K. Benefits paid out totalled $603.

The filing reports no service provider compensation on Schedule C. That is common where fees are paid by the employer or taken from investment returns, neither of which appears there. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $25.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $421K in 2009 to $103K in 2024 (down 76%), and participants from 270 to 466 (up 73%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$221$48,746$36,708$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$70$2,017$999$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant—$141$121$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets—0.30%0.36%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$0.05$133$114$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (17,456 plans), retail trade (3,794) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $421K2010: $418K2011: $424K2012: $478K2013: $589K2024: $103K$421K$589K$103K2009201020122024
Net assets at year end
2009: 2702010: 2582011: 2522012: 2242013: 2372024: 4662704662009201020122024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024466$103K$221$31K$74K$0
2013237$589K$2,485$15K$55K$1,000
2012224$478K$2,134$24K$55K$1,000
2011252$424K$1,683$12K$45K$2,000
2010258$418K$1,620$13K$40K$2,000
2009270$421K$1,559$12K$39K$2,000

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$0
  • Employer contributions$31,077
  • Participant contributions$73,618
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$104,695
  • Total income, including investment results$103,392
  • Benefits paid$603
  • Administrative expenses$25
  • Total expenses$628
  • Net income$102,764
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$102,764

Participants

  • Active participants441
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits25
  • Participants with account balances254
  • Total participants, end of year466

Fees and service providers

$0Schedule C compensation to organisations$0 direct · $0 indirect
—per participantsame-size median $141
—of net assetssame-size median 0.30%
$25administrative expenses charged to the plan$0.05 per participant

No service provider organisations are listed on Schedule C for this plan year.

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Investment advisory and management fees$25
  • Total administrative expenses$25

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$86K · 83.4%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$17K · 16.6%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $10,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 453310: Used Merchandise Stores.

Similar plans in Ohio

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Reineke Family Dealerships, Inc. 401(k) PlanReineke Family Dealerships, Inc.469$19.5M$41,659
Liberty Auto Group, Ltd. 401(k) PlanLiberty Auto Group, Ltd.465$24.8M$53,326
Jegs Group Employees 401(k) PlanJeg's Automotive, LLC472$22.2M$47,089
Jungle Jim's Savings PlanJungle Jim's Market, Inc.463$7.8M$16,952
Roush Holdings Employee Stock Ownership PlanRoush Holdings, Inc.472$169M$357,505
Best Supply, Inc. 401(k) Retirement PlanBest Supply, Inc.463$7.8M$16,829

Defined contribution plans in retail trade closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc. 401(k) Plan?

466 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 441 were active employees, with net assets of $102,764. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 17,456 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $31,077 in employer contributions for the year, which is $70 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,017 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports no provider compensation for the year. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $25. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Thrift Stores of Ohio, Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 4 Oct 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 3 Jul 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 58-1759874, plan 001, received 3 Jul 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.