My Plan Facts

Massachusetts › Transportation and warehousing › 500 to 999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

CMTS 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by Coastal Medical Transportation Services LLC, Hyannis, MA

401(k) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$10.9Mnet assets, end of plan year+35% on the year
911participants830 active
$11,957net assets per participantsame-size median $46,267
$1,077employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $1,934

Coastal Medical Transportation Services LLC of Hyannis, Massachusetts sponsors CMTS 401(k) Plan, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 911 participants (830 active) and $10.9M in net assets.

Net assets came to $11,957 per participant, well below the $46,267 median for defined contribution plans with 500 to 999 participants and well below the $32,883 median for defined contribution plans in transportation and warehousing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $894K during the year, or $1,077 per active participant against a same-size median of $1,934; participants contributed $1.6M and $328K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $995K.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $59K: $64.74 per participant, well below the same-size median of $113. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $91K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$11,957$46,267$32,883$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$1,077$1,934$1,396$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$64.74$113$113$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.54%0.25%0.33%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$99.64$109$97.79$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), transportation and warehousing (1,909) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$8,039,243
  • Employer contributions$894,039
  • Participant contributions$1,623,006
  • Rollovers and other contributions$327,973
  • Total contributions$2,845,018
  • Total income, including investment results$3,955,833
  • Benefits paid$994,507
  • Administrative expenses$90,768
  • Total expenses$1,102,161
  • Net income$2,853,672
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$10,892,915

Participants

  • Active participants830
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits14
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits67
  • Participants with account balances456
  • Total participants, end of year911

Fees and service providers

$59KSchedule C compensation to organisations$59K direct · $0 indirect
$64.74per participantsame-size median $113
0.54%of net assetssame-size median 0.25%
$91Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$99.64 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Capital Group Retirement Plan ServRecordkeeping fees$35,570$0
Afc Pensions, Inc.Contract Administrator$23,408$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Other administrative expenses$90,768
  • Total administrative expenses$90,768

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$10.3M · 94.9%
  • Participant loans$448K · 4.1%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$71K · 0.7%
  • Receivables$40K · 0.4%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateYes, $37,728
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 485990: Other Transit & Ground Passenger Transportation.

Similar plans in Massachusetts

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
UN1F1ED2 Global Packaging Group 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan and TrustUN1F1ED2 Global Packaging Group1,074$38.7M$36,017
Cape Air/nantucket Airlines KSOP Retirement PlanCape Air/nantucket Airlines895$34.9M$39,010
Boston School Bus Drivers Deferred Retirement and Savings PlanThe Boston School Bus Drivers' Deferred RTMT & SVGS Plan Committee1,079$59.1M$54,813
Aa Transportation, Inc. 401(k) PlanAa Transportation, Inc.680$8.1M$11,855
Grand Circle LLC 401(k) PlanGrand Circle LLC1,208$74.1M$61,314
Advantage Truck Group, LLC 401(k) PlanTri State Truck Center, LLC515$32.7M$63,520

Defined contribution plans in transportation and warehousing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is CMTS 401(k) Plan?

911 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 830 were active employees, with net assets of $10,892,915. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Coastal Medical Transportation Services LLC contribute per participant?

The filing reports $894,039 in employer contributions for the year, which is $1,077 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $1,934 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $58,978 in compensation to service provider organisations, $64.74 per participant or 0.54% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $113 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $90,768. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Coastal Medical Transportation Services LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: Capital Group Retirement Plan Serv and Afc Pensions, Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 46-3021900, plan 001, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.