My Plan Facts

California › Finance and insurance › 250 to 499 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Hometown Equity Mortgage 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by Hometown Equity Mortgage, LLC, Lake Forest, CA

401(k) planautomatic enrollment

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$4.2Mnet assets, end of plan year+34% on the year
347participants320 active
$12,065net assets per participantsame-size median $48,719
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,015

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, Hometown Equity Mortgage 401(k) Plan covered 347 participants and held $4.2M in net assets. The plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Hometown Equity Mortgage, LLC of Lake Forest, California.

Net assets came to $12,065 per participant, well below the $48,719 median for defined contribution plans with 250 to 499 participants and well below the $92,323 median for defined contribution plans in finance and insurance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $58K: $166 per participant, above the same-size median of $141. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $44K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $837K in 2020 to $4.2M in 2024 (up 400%), and participants from 202 to 347 (up 72%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$12,065$48,719$92,323$53,089
Employer contributions per active participant—$2,015$3,565$2,174
Schedule C compensation per participant$166$141$137$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets1.4%0.30%0.17%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$128$133$130$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (17,492 plans), finance and insurance (4,398) and all US plans (63,607). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2020: $837K2021: $2.2M2022: $2.2M2024: $4.2M$837K$4.2M202020222024
Net assets at year end
2020: 2022021: 5142022: 2552024: 347202514347202020222024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024347$4.2M$12,066—$1.1M$58K
2022255$2.2M$8,773—$1.2M$60K
2021514$2.2M$4,354$10K$1.2M$28K
2020202$837K$4,144$0$81K$1,000

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$3,117,523
  • Employer contributions—
  • Participant contributions$1,087,584
  • Rollovers and other contributions$104,455
  • Total contributions$1,192,039
  • Total income, including investment results$1,617,018
  • Benefits paid$503,402
  • Administrative expenses$44,426
  • Total expenses$547,828
  • Net income$1,069,190
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$4,186,713

Participants

  • Active participants320
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits27
  • Participants with account balances300
  • Total participants, end of year347

Fees and service providers

$58KSchedule C compensation to organisations$44K direct · $13K indirect
$166per participantsame-size median $141
1.4%of net assetssame-size median 0.30%
$44Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$128 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator; Participant loan processing$44,426$0
Stifel Nicolaus & Company Inc.Investment advisory (plan)$0$13,125

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$44,426
  • Total administrative expenses$44,426

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$4.0M · 96.5%
  • Participant loans$145K · 3.5%
  • Common/collective trusts$3,684 · 0.1%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $1,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 522292: Real Estate Credit (including mortgage bankers & originators).

Similar plans in California

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
El Dorado Savings Bank Profit Sharing PlanEl Dorado Savings Bank350$43.4M$124,012
Beneficial State Bancorp, Inc. 401(k) PlanBeneficial State Bancorp, Inc.347$25.5M$73,501
Voleon Capital Management LP 401(k) PlanVoleon Capital Management LP351$35.6M$101,496
Star One Credit Union Savings PlanStar One Credit Union346$105M$304,873
Tipalti 401(k) PlanTipalti, Inc.355$26.3M$74,052
Meriwest Credit Union 401(k) PlanMeriwest Credit Union343$37.5M$109,471

Defined contribution plans in finance and insurance closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Hometown Equity Mortgage 401(k) Plan?

347 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 320 were active employees, with net assets of $4,186,713. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 17,492 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Hometown Equity Mortgage, LLC contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $57,551 in compensation to service provider organisations, $166 per participant or 1.4% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $141 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $44,426. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Hometown Equity Mortgage, LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Investment advisory or management: Stifel Nicolaus & Company Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Sep 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Sep 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 43-1937428, plan 001, received 15 Sep 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.