Pennsylvania › Wholesale trade › 5,000 to 24,999 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024
Dorman Products, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan & Trust
Sponsored by Dorman Products, Inc., Colmar, PA
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
Dorman Products, Inc. of Colmar, Pennsylvania sponsors Dorman Products, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan & Trust, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 5,077 participants (3,951 active) and $239M in net assets.
Net assets came to $47,137 per participant, well below the $64,499 median for defined contribution plans with 5,000 to 24,999 participants and well below the $65,557 median for defined contribution plans in wholesale trade. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.
The employer contributed $12.8M during the year, or $3,252 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,424; participants contributed $12.3M and $2.2M arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $25.5M.
Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $457K: $90.08 per participant, well above the same-size median of $53.38. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $446K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.
Across the filings on record, net assets went from $33.9M in 2009 to $239M in 2024 (up 606%), and participants from 1,081 to 5,077 (up 370%).
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DC plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | $47,137 | $64,499 | $65,557 | $53,102 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | $3,252 | $2,424 | $2,107 | $2,175 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | $90.08 | $53.38 | $153 | $123 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | 0.19% | 0.09% | 0.27% | 0.26% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | $87.86 | $54.85 | $147 | $116 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 5,000 to 24,999 participants (2,605 plans), wholesale trade (3,526) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Trend by plan year
| Plan year | Participants | Net assets | Per participant | Employer contributions | Participant contributions | Schedule C compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 5,077 | $239M | $47,137 | $12.8M | $12.3M | $457K |
| 2023 | 4,991 | $206M | $41,280 | $9.2M | $12.2M | $393K |
| 2022 | 4,381 | $156M | $35,598 | $7.8M | $9.1M | $330K |
| 2021 | 3,455 | $179M | $51,769 | $6.4M | $8.1M | $368K |
| 2020 | 3,291 | $153M | $46,365 | $5.4M | $7.1M | $327K |
| 2019 | 3,241 | $130M | $40,135 | $5.0M | $6.3M | $278K |
| 2018 | 2,328 | $112M | $47,911 | $4.2M | $5.1M | $115K |
| 2017 | 2,576 | $106M | $41,189 | $2.7M | $4.7M | $68K |
| 2016 | 2,102 | $95.8M | $45,584 | $2.5M | $4.2M | $56K |
| 2015 | 1,992 | $83.3M | $41,825 | $2.5M | $4.0M | $57K |
| 2014 | 1,812 | $81.2M | $44,820 | $2.3M | $3.5M | $47K |
| 2013 | 1,564 | $80.5M | $51,444 | $2.2M | $3.0M | $36K |
| 2012 | 1,450 | $59.8M | $41,234 | $1.9M | $2.7M | $17K |
| 2011 | 1,385 | $45.9M | $33,144 | $1.7M | $2.5M | $118K |
| 2010 | 1,239 | $45.9M | $37,019 | $1.5M | $2.1M | $92K |
| 2009 | 1,081 | $33.9M | $31,371 | $1.4M | $1.9M | $77K |
Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.
Statement for the year
- Net assets, beginning of year$206,029,024
- Employer contributions$12,847,925
- Participant contributions$12,282,741
- Rollovers and other contributions$2,191,137
- Total contributions$27,321,803
- Total income, including investment results$59,309,961
- Benefits paid$25,488,305
- Administrative expenses$446,051
- Total expenses$26,024,628
- Net income$33,285,333
- Net transfers$0
- Net assets, end of year$239,314,357
Participants
- Active participants3,951
- Retired or separated, receiving benefits16
- Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits1,090
- Participants with account balances4,571
- Total participants, end of year5,077
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Vanguard Group, Inc. | Recordkeeping and information management; Trustee (directed); Participant loan processing | $323,730 | $0 |
| Vanguard Advisers Inc. | Investment advisory (participants) | $101,606 | $0 |
| Equitable Advisors LLC | Consulting (general) | $32,000 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Administrative expenses on Schedule H
- Other administrative expenses$446,051
- Total administrative expenses$446,051
Investment structure
Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.
- Common/collective trusts$124M · 52.0%
- Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$85.5M · 35.7%
- Employer securities$16.7M · 7.0%
- Receivables$9.2M · 3.8%
- Participant loans$3.5M · 1.5%
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)No
- Accounting firmBaker Tilly US, LLP
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateYes, $2,388
- Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $5,000,000
- Blackout period during the yearNo
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
2EProfit-sharing plan2FERISA section 404(c) plan2HPartial participant-directed account plan2JCode section 401(k) feature2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment3DPre-approved pension plan
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 423100: Motor Vehicle, & Motor Vehicle Parts & Supplies.
Similar plans in Pennsylvania
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brenntag USA 401(k) and Profit Sharing Plan | Brenntag North America, Inc. | 5,668 | $695M | $122,663 |
| Gobrands, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan | Gobrands, Inc. | 4,891 | $76.6M | $15,654 |
| Hajoca Corporation Employees 401(k) Plan | Hajoca Corporation | 7,334 | $352M | $48,035 |
| Procacci Bros. Sales Corporation 401(k) Plan | Procacci Bros. Sales Corp. | 3,575 | $7.0M | $1,957 |
| Avantor Retirement Savings 401(k) Plan and Trust | Avantor Funding, Inc. | 8,269 | $648M | $78,365 |
| Giorgio Companies Profit Sharing & 401(k) Plan | Giorgio Foods, Inc. | 3,112 | $102M | $32,695 |
Defined contribution plans in wholesale trade closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is Dorman Products, Inc. 401(k) Retirement Plan & Trust?
5,077 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 3,951 were active employees, with net assets of $239,314,357. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 5,000 to 24,999 participants band, which held 2,605 plans in plan year 2024.
What does Dorman Products, Inc. contribute per participant?
The filing reports $12,847,925 in employer contributions for the year, which is $3,252 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,424 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
Schedule C reports $457,336 in compensation to service provider organisations, $90.08 per participant or 0.19% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $53.38 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $446,051. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is Dorman Products, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: The Vanguard Group, Inc.. Investment advisory or management: Vanguard Advisers Inc.. Trustee or custodian: The Vanguard Group, Inc.. The financial statements were audited by Baker Tilly US, LLP. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 23-2078856, plan 001, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.