My Plan Facts

Delaware › Manufacturing › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2025

Asbury Carbons, Inc. Employee Stock Ownership Plan

Sponsored by Asbury Carbons, Inc. & Subs, Wilmington, DE

employee stock ownership plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$298Knet assets, end of plan year−94% on the year
218participants0 active
$1,366net assets per participantsame-size median $60,185
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

Asbury Carbons, Inc. & Subs of Wilmington, Delaware sponsors Asbury Carbons, Inc. Employee Stock Ownership Plan, an employee stock ownership plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 30 Jun 2025 shows 218 participants (0 active) and $298K in net assets.

Net assets came to $1,366 per participant, well below the $60,185 median for defined contribution plans with 100 to 249 participants and well below the $62,303 median for defined contribution plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $16K: $72.18 per participant, well below the same-size median of $194. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $78K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $16.3M in 2009 to $298K in 2024 (down 98%), and participants from 158 to 218 (up 38%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$1,366$60,185$62,303$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant—$2,447$2,187$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$72.18$194$136$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets5.3%0.32%0.24%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$359$176$131$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (21,996 plans), manufacturing (11,377) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $16.3M2010: $24.9M2011: $31.6M2012: $31.0M2013: $38.5M2014: $36.5M2015: $30.2M2016: $33.3M2017: $34.7M2018: $32.5M2019: $25.2M2020: $38.5M2021: $18.8M2022: $4.8M2023: $5.0M2024: $298K$16.3M$38.5M$298K20092012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2009: 1582010: 1542011: 1612012: 1662013: 1732014: 1792015: 1882016: 1922017: 1882018: 2002019: 2242020: 2192021: 2052022: 2342023: 2312024: 21815823421820092012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024218$298K$1,367——$16K
2023231$5.0M$21,680$0—$0
2022234$4.8M$20,624$511K—$0
2021205$18.8M$91,478$357K—$0
2020219$38.5M$175,658$376K—$0
2019224$25.2M$112,522$360K—$0
2018200$32.5M$162,400$574K—$0
2017188$34.7M$184,638$590K—$0
2016192$33.3M$173,255$604K—$0
2015188$30.2M$160,441$621K—$0
2014179$36.5M$203,955$635K—$0
2013173$38.5M$222,803$650K—$0
2012166$31.0M$186,886$664K—$0
2011161$31.6M$196,155$680K—$0
2010154$24.9M$161,422$697K—$0
2009158$16.3M$103,165$714K—$0

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$5,008,153
  • Employer contributions—
  • Participant contributions—
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$0
  • Total income, including investment results$1,621,648
  • Benefits paid$6,253,736
  • Administrative expenses$78,199
  • Total expenses$6,331,935
  • Net income−$4,710,287
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$297,866

Participants

  • Active participants0
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits216
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits0
  • Participants with account balances218
  • Total participants, end of year218

Fees and service providers

$16KSchedule C compensation to organisations$16K direct · $0 indirect
$72.18per participantsame-size median $194
5.3%of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
$78Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$359 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Penchecks TrustOther services$10,595$0
Baker Tilly US, LLPAccounting (including auditing)$5,140$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Recordkeeping fees$58,150
  • Other administrative expenses$10,595
  • IQPA audit fees$5,139
  • Legal fees$4,315
  • Total administrative expenses$78,199

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$298K · 100.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)No
  • Accounting firmBaker Tilly US, LLP
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $2,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2OESOP other than a leveraged ESOP
  • 3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 327900: Other Nonmetallic Mineral Product Mfg.

Other plans of Asbury Carbons, Inc. & Subs

PlanParticipantsNet assets
Asbury Carbons, Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan358$28.1M
Asbury Carbons, Inc. Pension Plan221$32.3M

Similar plans in Delaware

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Service Energy, LLC Combined Profit Sharing PlanService Energy, LLC273$10.5M$38,449
Covation Savings PlanCovation Inc.153$15.8M$102,967
Garrett Transportation I, Inc. 401(k) PlanGarrett Transportation I, Inc.286$31.0M$108,438
Choice Financial, Inc. 401(k) PlanChoice Financial, Inc.134$5.4M$40,665
Spi Pharma 401(k) PlanSpi Pharma308$56.6M$183,692
Zacros America Employees' 401(k) PlanZacros America, Inc.131$6.8M$51,635

Defined contribution plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Asbury Carbons, Inc. Employee Stock Ownership Plan?

218 participants at the end of the plan year ending 30 Jun 2025, of whom 0 were active employees, with net assets of $297,866. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 21,996 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Asbury Carbons, Inc. & Subs contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $15,735 in compensation to service provider organisations, $72.18 per participant or 5.3% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $194 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $78,199. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Asbury Carbons, Inc. & Subs. The financial statements were audited by Baker Tilly US, LLP. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 18 Feb 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 22-0744000, plan 004, received 18 Feb 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.