My Plan Facts

Pennsylvania › Retail trade › 25,000 or more participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Wawa, Inc. 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by Wawa, Inc., Wawa, PA

401(k) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$1.12Bnet assets, end of plan year+18% on the year
25,954participants18,984 active
$43,230net assets per participantsame-size median $62,774
$1,574employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,417

Wawa, Inc. of Wawa, Pennsylvania sponsors Wawa, Inc. 401(k) Plan, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 25,954 participants (18,984 active) and $1.12B in net assets.

Net assets came to $43,230 per participant, well below the $62,774 median for defined contribution plans with 25,000 or more participants and above the $36,708 median for defined contribution plans in retail trade. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $29.9M during the year, or $1,574 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,417; participants contributed $65.2M and $166K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $117M.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $2.0M: $76.11 per participant, well above the same-size median of $36.41. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $1.9M. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $151M in 2009 to $1.12B in 2024 (up 641%), and participants from 10,735 to 25,954 (up 142%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$43,230$62,774$36,708$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$1,574$2,417$999$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$76.11$36.41$121$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.18%0.07%0.36%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$74.87$38.81$114$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 25,000 or more participants (608 plans), retail trade (3,794) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $151M2010: $183M2011: $187M2012: $219M2013: $272M2014: $291M2015: $360M2016: $401M2017: $489M2018: $481M2019: $615M2020: $768M2021: $905M2022: $773M2023: $951M2024: $1.12B$151M$1.12B20092012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2009: 10,7352010: 11,1912011: 11,8002012: 12,2942013: 12,9012014: 25,3212015: 30,7622016: 33,8642017: 35,6072018: 37,4312019: 17,3082020: 19,4022021: 22,3002022: 22,1492023: 24,0162024: 25,95410,73537,43125,95420092012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
202425,954$1.12B$43,230$29.9M$65.2M$2.0M
202324,016$951M$39,580$27.3M$61.6M$1.9M
202222,149$773M$34,881$23.8M$54.5M$1.7M
202122,300$905M$40,599$22.1M$47.8M$1.6M
202019,402$768M$39,596$18.9M$41.8M$1.1M
201917,308$615M$35,525$17.9M$36.7M$918K
201837,431$481M$12,846$15.9M$30.7M$858K
201735,607$489M$13,730$12.3M$28.7M$840K
201633,864$401M$11,851$14.4M$27.4M$458K
201530,762$360M$11,699$12.9M$22.8M$158K
201425,321$291M$11,486$12.1M$18.5M$266K
201312,901$272M$21,084$10.9M$17.3M$224K
201212,294$219M$17,806$10.1M$16.1M$182K
201111,800$187M$15,879$9.0M$14.5M$180K
201011,191$183M$16,317$8.1M$13.3M$163K
200910,735$151M$14,101$6.7M$11.5M$89K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$950,561,376
  • Employer contributions$29,879,352
  • Participant contributions$65,228,588
  • Rollovers and other contributions$165,967
  • Total contributions$95,273,907
  • Total income, including investment results$235,349,066
  • Benefits paid$117,096,265
  • Administrative expenses$1,943,267
  • Total expenses$119,039,532
  • Net income$116,309,534
  • Net transfers$55,121,285
  • Net assets, end of year$1,121,992,195

Participants

  • Active participants18,984
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits189
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits6,632
  • Participants with account balances25,168
  • Total participants, end of year25,954

Fees and service providers

$2.0MSchedule C compensation to organisations$2.0M direct · $0 indirect
$76.11per participantsame-size median $36.41
0.18%of net assetssame-size median 0.07%
$1.9Madministrative expenses charged to the plan$74.87 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
The Vanguard Group, Inc.Recordkeeping and information management; Participant loan processing; Participant communication$1,441,594$0
Vanguard Advisers Inc.Investment advisory (participants)$492,634$0
RSM US LLPAccounting (including auditing)$41,137$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Recordkeeping fees$1,259,768
  • Investment advisory and management fees$492,634
  • Other administrative expenses$135,343
  • IQPA audit fees$41,137
  • Legal fees$14,385
  • Total administrative expenses$1,943,267

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Common/collective trusts$830M · 74.0%
  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$244M · 21.8%
  • Participant loans$37.6M · 3.4%
  • Receivables$9.7M · 0.9%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)No
  • Accounting firmRSM US LLP
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $5,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2HPartial participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 445120: Convenience Stores.

Other plans of Wawa, Inc.

PlanParticipantsNet assets
Wawa, Inc. Employee Stock Ownership Plan49,990$5.36B

Similar plans in Pennsylvania

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Urban Outfitters, Inc. 401(k) Savings PlanUrban Outfitters, Inc.27,598$513M$18,597
Sap America, Inc. 401(k) PlanSap America, Inc.25,294$9.22B$364,554
The Rite Aid 401(k) PlanRite Aid Corporation30,990$3.21B$103,445
Ikea Retirement and Savings PlanIkea North America Services, LLC22,940$1.07B$46,847
The Giant Company 401(k) PlanThe Giant Company LLC41,115$992M$24,116
Weis Markets, Inc. Retirement Savings PlanWeis Markets, Inc.22,404$304M$13,567

Defined contribution plans in retail trade closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Wawa, Inc. 401(k) Plan?

25,954 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 18,984 were active employees, with net assets of $1,121,992,195. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 25,000 or more participants band, which held 608 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Wawa, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $29,879,352 in employer contributions for the year, which is $1,574 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,417 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $1,975,365 in compensation to service provider organisations, $76.11 per participant or 0.18% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $36.41 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $1,943,267. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Wawa, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: The Vanguard Group, Inc.. Investment advisory or management: Vanguard Advisers Inc.. The financial statements were audited by RSM US LLP. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 21-0515330, plan 003, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.