Massachusetts › Professional, scientific and technical services › 250 to 499 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024
North Star Fertility Partners, LLC 401(k) Plan
Sponsored by North Star Fertility Partners, LLC, Boston, MA
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
North Star Fertility Partners, LLC 401(k) Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by North Star Fertility Partners, LLC of Boston, Massachusetts. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 it reported 288 participants, 239 of them active, and net assets of $14.1M.
Net assets came to $49,121 per participant, close to the $48,746 median for defined contribution plans with 250 to 499 participants and well below the $73,951 median for defined contribution plans in professional, scientific and technical services. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.
The employer contributed $475K during the year, or $1,988 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,017; participants contributed $765K. Benefits paid out totalled $1.2M.
Schedule C lists 1 service provider organisation paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $16K: $56.95 per participant, well below the same-size median of $141. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $16K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DC plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | $49,121 | $48,746 | $73,951 | $53,102 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | $1,988 | $2,017 | $3,219 | $2,175 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | $56.95 | $141 | $148 | $123 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | 0.12% | 0.30% | 0.22% | 0.26% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | $56.95 | $133 | $140 | $116 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (17,456 plans), professional, scientific and technical services (9,776) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Statement for the year
- Net assets, beginning of year$7,389,624
- Employer contributions$475,139
- Participant contributions$764,858
- Rollovers and other contributions—
- Total contributions$1,239,997
- Total income, including investment results$2,179,271
- Benefits paid$1,248,301
- Administrative expenses$16,402
- Total expenses$1,264,703
- Net income$914,568
- Net transfers$5,842,761
- Net assets, end of year$14,146,953
Participants
- Active participants239
- Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
- Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits49
- Participants with account balances217
- Total participants, end of year288
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Vanguard Group, Inc. | Recordkeeping and information management; Participant loan processing | $16,402 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Administrative expenses on Schedule H
- Contract administrator fees$16,402
- Total administrative expenses$16,402
Investment structure
Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.
- Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$13.8M · 97.4%
- Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$292K · 2.1%
- Participant loans$79K · 0.6%
- Receivables$2,401 · 0.0%
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
- Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
- Blackout period during the yearYes
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan2EProfit-sharing plan3DPre-approved pension plan2GTotal participant-directed account plan2JCode section 401(k) feature2KCode section 401(m) arrangement2FERISA section 404(c) plan2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 541990: All Other Professional, Scientific, & Technical Services.
Similar plans in Massachusetts
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guarino's Swimming Pools Service, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan & Trust | Guarino's Swimming Pool Service, Inc. | 290 | $7.6M | $26,182 |
| Symmes, Maini & McKee Associates, Inc. 401(k) Plan | Symmes Maini & McKee Assoc. Inc. | 286 | $63.2M | $221,126 |
| Payette Associates Inc. 401(k) Plan | Payette Associates Inc. | 291 | $48.6M | $167,073 |
| Pan Communications, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan & Trust | Pan Communications, Inc. | 285 | $21.0M | $73,550 |
| Vistra USA Inc., 401(k) Plan | Vistra USA Inc. | 291 | $19.1M | $65,780 |
| Sullivan & Worcester LLP Savings and Investment Plan | Sullivan & Worcester LLP | 285 | $118M | $413,723 |
Defined contribution plans in professional, scientific and technical services closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is North Star Fertility Partners, LLC 401(k) Plan?
288 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 239 were active employees, with net assets of $14,146,953. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 17,456 plans in plan year 2024.
What does North Star Fertility Partners, LLC contribute per participant?
The filing reports $475,139 in employer contributions for the year, which is $1,988 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,017 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
Schedule C reports $16,402 in compensation to service provider organisations, $56.95 per participant or 0.12% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $141 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $16,402. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is North Star Fertility Partners, LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: The Vanguard Group, Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 04-3566972, plan 001, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.