My Plan Facts

Illinois › Accommodation and food services › 1,000 to 4,999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Dec 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Gibsons Restaurant Group 401(k) Plan

Sponsored by GRG Holdings LLC, Chicago, IL

401(k) planfirst return

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$1.6Mnet assets, end of plan year
1,611participants1,558 active
$1,004net assets per participantsame-size median $50,295
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,045

GRG Holdings LLC of Chicago, Illinois sponsors Gibsons Restaurant Group 401(k) Plan, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 1,611 participants (1,558 active) and $1.6M in net assets.

Net assets came to $1,004 per participant, well below the $50,295 median for defined contribution plans with 1,000 to 4,999 participants and well below the $11,807 median for defined contribution plans in accommodation and food services. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Schedule C lists 1 service provider organisation paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $4,065: $2.52 per participant, well below the same-size median of $82.08. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $4,065. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$1,004$50,295$11,807$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant—$2,045$505$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$2.52$82.08$54.19$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.25%0.17%0.49%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$2.52$82.20$53.24$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 1,000 to 4,999 participants (10,207 plans), accommodation and food services (1,254) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$0
  • Employer contributions—
  • Participant contributions$273,755
  • Rollovers and other contributions$1,401,613
  • Total contributions$1,675,368
  • Total income, including investment results$1,621,184
  • Benefits paid$175
  • Administrative expenses$4,065
  • Total expenses$4,240
  • Net income$1,616,944
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$1,616,944

Participants

  • Active participants1,558
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits53
  • Participants with account balances1,302
  • Total participants, end of year1,611

Fees and service providers

$4,065Schedule C compensation to organisations$4,065 direct · $0 indirect
$2.52per participantsame-size median $82.08
0.25%of net assetssame-size median 0.17%
$4,065administrative expenses charged to the plan$2.52 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator; Participant loan processing$4,065$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$4,065
  • Total administrative expenses$4,065

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$876K · 54.2%
  • Common/collective trusts$740K · 45.8%
  • Insurance company general account$242 · 0.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $1,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 722511: Full-Service Restaurants.

Similar plans in Illinois

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Malnati Organization 401(k) Savings PlanMalnati Organization, LLC1,739$28.5M$16,397
Puttshack USA Inc. 401(k) PlanPuttshack USA Inc.1,486$6.4M$4,284
Tharaldson Hospitality Staffing, LLC 401(k) PlanTharaldson Hospitality Staffing,2,525$19.5M$7,704
Oxford Capital Group 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanOxford Capital Group, LLC1,411$15.5M$10,965
Grubhub, Inc. 401(k) Retirement PlanGrubhub Holdings Inc.3,508$219M$62,476
Quest Management 401(k) PlanQuest Food Management Services1,394$7.0M$5,011

Defined contribution plans in accommodation and food services closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Gibsons Restaurant Group 401(k) Plan?

1,611 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 1,558 were active employees, with net assets of $1,616,944. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 1,000 to 4,999 participants band, which held 10,207 plans in plan year 2024.

What does GRG Holdings LLC contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $4,065 in compensation to service provider organisations, $2.52 per participant or 0.25% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $82.08 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $4,065. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is GRG Holdings LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Dec 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 30 Jun 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 88-4090988, plan 001, received 30 Jun 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.