My Plan Facts

Wisconsin › Health care and social assistance › 1,000 to 4,999 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jul 2025 to 31 Dec 2025

McWah 403(b) Retirement Plan

Sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc., Milwaukee, WI

403(b) planautomatic enrollmentfirst returnplan year 2025 filing

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$2.6Mnet assets, end of plan year
1,008participants977 active
$2,532net assets per participantsame-size median $50,295
$604employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,045

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025, McWah 403(b) Retirement Plan covered 1,008 participants and held $2.6M in net assets. The plan is a 403(b) plan sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc. of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Net assets came to $2,532 per participant, well below the $50,295 median for defined contribution plans with 1,000 to 4,999 participants and well below the $30,764 median for defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $590K during the year, or $604 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,045; participants contributed $1.8M and $65K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $3,941.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $22K: $22.14 per participant, well below the same-size median of $82.08. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $23K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$2,532$50,295$30,764$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$604$2,045$1,536$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$22.14$82.08$93.85$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.87%0.17%0.31%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$23.10$82.20$86.53$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 1,000 to 4,999 participants (10,207 plans), health care and social assistance (9,402) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$0
  • Employer contributions$589,900
  • Participant contributions$1,841,391
  • Rollovers and other contributions$64,917
  • Total contributions$2,496,208
  • Total income, including investment results$2,579,795
  • Benefits paid$3,941
  • Administrative expenses$23,280
  • Total expenses$27,221
  • Net income$2,552,574
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$2,552,574

Participants

  • Active participants977
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits31
  • Participants with account balances1,008
  • Total participants, end of year1,008

Fees and service providers

$22KSchedule C compensation to organisations$22K direct · $0 indirect
$22.14per participantsame-size median $82.08
0.87%of net assetssame-size median 0.17%
$23Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$23.10 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Transamerica Retirement SolutionsClaims processing; Recordkeeping and information management; Investment management; Participant loan processing; Participant communication$22,321$0
National Financial ServicesSecurities brokerage$0$0
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.Securities brokerage$0$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Recordkeeping fees$22,321
  • Investment advisory and management fees$959
  • Total administrative expenses$23,280

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$2.5M · 99.1%
  • Other investments$13K · 0.5%
  • Insurance company general account$9,604 · 0.4%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $10,000,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2LCode section 403(b)(1) arrangement (annuity contracts)
  • 2MCode section 403(b)(7) accounts (custodial accounts for regulated investment company stock)
  • 2RParticipant-directed brokerage accounts provided as an investment option under the plan
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 622000: Hospitals.

Similar plans in Wisconsin

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin 403(b) PlanGroup Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin1,021$93.1M$91,170
Milwaukee Center for Independence, Inc. and Affiliates 403(b) PlanMilwaukee Center for Independence, Inc.981$24.8M$25,279
Agrace Health Employee Retirement PlanAgrace Health1,040$54.6M$52,495
Sauk Prairie Healthcare, Inc. Tax Deferred Annuity PlanSauk Prairie Healthcare, Inc.953$121M$126,472
Door County Memorial Hospital Tax Deferred Annuity PlanDoor County Memorial Hospital1,060$121M$113,937
403(b) Thrift Plan for Employees of Wisconsin Community Services, Inc.Wisconsin Community Services949$15.8M$16,633

Defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is McWah 403(b) Retirement Plan?

1,008 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025, of whom 977 were active employees, with net assets of $2,552,574. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 1,000 to 4,999 participants band, which held 10,207 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $589,900 in employer contributions for the year, which is $604 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,045 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $22,321 in compensation to service provider organisations, $22.14 per participant or 0.87% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $82.08 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $23,280. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Transamerica Retirement Solutions. Investment advisory or management: Transamerica Retirement Solutions. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jul 2025 to 31 Dec 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 31 Jul 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 39-1341366, plan 001, received 31 Jul 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.