My Plan Facts

California › Transportation and warehousing › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Matson Individual Deferred Compensation and Profit Sharing Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees

Sponsored by Matson, Inc., Walnut Creek, CA

401(k) plancollectively bargained

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

—net assets, end of plan year
122participants106 active
—net assets per participantsame-size median $60,185
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

Matson, Inc. of Walnut Creek, California sponsors Matson Individual Deferred Compensation and Profit Sharing Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 122 participants (106 active).

No Schedule H financial statement is attached to this filing, so asset, contribution and fee figures are not available for the year.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant—$60,185$32,883$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant—$2,447$1,396$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant—$194$113$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets—0.32%0.33%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant—$176$97.79$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (21,996 plans), transportation and warehousing (1,909) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $9.5M2010: $13.4M$9.5M$13.4M2009201020222024
Net assets at year end
2009: 7582010: 7832022: 1092023: 1132024: 1227587831222009201020222024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024122—————
2023113—————
2022109—————
2010783$13.4M$17,109$6,000$857K$0
2009758$9.5M$12,534$5,000$850K$2,000

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Fees and service providers

$0Schedule C compensation to organisations$0 direct · $0 indirect
—per participantsame-size median $194
—of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
—administrative expenses charged to the plan— per participant

No service provider organisations are listed on Schedule C for this plan year.

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted late—
  • Covered by a fidelity bond—
  • Blackout period during the year—

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2RParticipant-directed brokerage accounts provided as an investment option under the plan
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan
  • 3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 488510: Freight Transportation Arrangement.

Other plans of Matson, Inc.

PlanParticipantsNet assets
Matson, Inc. 401(k) and Profit Sharing Plan for Non-Bargaining Employees1,936$332M
Retirement Plan for Employees of Matson1,859$242M
Matson and Subsidiaries 401(k) Retirement Savings Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees306$50.3M

Similar plans in California

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
New Orleans Cold Storage 401(k) PlanLineage Logistics Holdings LLC124$3.1M$25,157
Bee Imagine LLC-401K PlanBee Imagine LLC122$183K$1,499
The 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan for Employees of Affinity Truck CenterCentral Valley GMC d/b/a Affinity Truck Center127$10.1M$79,292
Air New Zealand Limited 401(k) PlanAir New Zealand Limited118$17.0M$143,668
Made IT Logistics LLC 401(k) PlanMade IT Logistics LLC129$267K$2,072
Crew Point Logistics 401(k) PlanCrew Point Logistics LLC117$623K$5,321

Defined contribution plans in transportation and warehousing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Matson Individual Deferred Compensation and Profit Sharing Plan for Bargaining Unit Employees?

122 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 106 were active employees. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 21,996 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Matson, Inc. contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

No financial schedules are attached to this filing.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Matson, Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 10 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 99-0032630, plan 015, received 10 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.