My Plan Facts

California › Construction › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Dec 2025

Otto Construction 401(k) Retirement Plan

Sponsored by John F. Otto, Inc. d/b/a Otto Construction, Sacramento, CA

401(k) planplan year 2025 filing

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$21.9Mnet assets, end of plan year+14% on the year
186participants149 active
$117,646net assets per participantsame-size median $60,207
$3,296employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025, Otto Construction 401(k) Retirement Plan covered 186 participants and held $21.9M in net assets. The plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by John F. Otto, Inc. d/b/a Otto Construction of Sacramento, California.

Net assets came to $117,646 per participant, well above the $60,207 median for defined contribution plans with 100 to 249 participants and well above the $54,997 median for defined contribution plans in construction. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $491K during the year, or $3,296 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,447; participants contributed $1.0M and $12K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $2.0M.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $53K: $285 per participant, well above the same-size median of $194. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $53K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$117,646$60,207$54,997$53,089
Employer contributions per active participant$3,296$2,447$2,728$2,174
Schedule C compensation per participant$285$194$162$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.24%0.32%0.33%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$285$176$167$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (22,054 plans), construction (4,222) and all US plans (63,607). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$19,234,517
  • Employer contributions$491,031
  • Participant contributions$1,013,810
  • Rollovers and other contributions$12,019
  • Total contributions$1,516,860
  • Total income, including investment results$4,711,318
  • Benefits paid$2,002,959
  • Administrative expenses$53,032
  • Total expenses$2,063,756
  • Net income$2,647,562
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$21,882,079

Participants

  • Active participants149
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits3
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits32
  • Participants with account balances125
  • Total participants, end of year186

Fees and service providers

$53KSchedule C compensation to organisations$53K direct · $0 indirect
$285per participantsame-size median $194
0.24%of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
$53Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$285 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Empower Annuity Insurance Company ORecordkeeping fees$31,079$0
Hightower Advisors LLCInvestment advisory (plan)$20,618$0
Empower Advisory Group, LLCInvestment management$1,335$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Recordkeeping fees$31,079
  • Investment advisory and management fees$21,953
  • Total administrative expenses$53,032

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$21.3M · 97.5%
  • Insurance company general account$496K · 2.3%
  • Participant loans$45K · 0.2%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 236200: Nonresidential Building Construction.

Similar plans in California

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
MG Electric, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan and TrustMG Electric Inc.187$2.9M$15,512
Hat Creek Construction & Materials, Inc. 401(k) PlanHat Creek Construction & Materials, Inc.186$11.7M$63,126
Plant/allison Corporation Profit Sharing 401(k) PlanPlant/allison Corporation188$60.3M$320,727
Legacy Builders 401(k) PlanLegacy Builders, Inc.186$9.6M$51,546
Alcoa Electrical Contractor, Inc. Employee Stock Ownership PlanAlcoa Electrical Contractor Inc.188$5.6M$29,530
Burgeson's Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc. 401(k) PlanBurgeson's Heating and Air Conditioning, in.185$10.6M$57,344

Defined contribution plans in construction closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Otto Construction 401(k) Retirement Plan?

186 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025, of whom 149 were active employees, with net assets of $21,882,079. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 22,054 plans in plan year 2024.

What does John F. Otto, Inc. d/b/a Otto Construction contribute per participant?

The filing reports $491,031 in employer contributions for the year, which is $3,296 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,447 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $53,032 in compensation to service provider organisations, $285 per participant or 0.24% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $194 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $53,032. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is John F. Otto, Inc. d/b/a Otto Construction. Recordkeeping or administration: Empower Annuity Insurance Company O. Investment advisory or management: Hightower Advisors LLC and Empower Advisory Group, LLC. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Dec 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 31 Aug 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Sep 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 94-1431805, plan 001, received 31 Aug 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.