My Plan Facts

Alabama › Mining › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 16 Sep 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC Retirement 401(k) Savings Plan

Sponsored by Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC, Adger, AL

401(k) planautomatic enrollmentfirst return

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$11.3Mnet assets, end of plan year
184participants171 active
$61,564net assets per participantsame-size median $60,185
$1,498employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC of Adger, Alabama sponsors Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC Retirement 401(k) Savings Plan, a 401(k) plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 184 participants (171 active) and $11.3M in net assets.

Net assets came to $61,564 per participant, close to the $60,185 median for defined contribution plans with 100 to 249 participants and below the $73,121 median for defined contribution plans in mining. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $256K during the year, or $1,498 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,447; participants contributed $339K. Benefits paid out totalled $236K.

Schedule C lists 4 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $18K: $96.49 per participant, well below the same-size median of $194. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $18K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$61,564$60,185$73,121$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$1,498$2,447$4,223$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$96.49$194$126$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.16%0.32%0.20%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$96.49$176$127$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (21,996 plans), mining (483) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$0
  • Employer contributions$256,093
  • Participant contributions$338,926
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$595,019
  • Total income, including investment results$661,473
  • Benefits paid$236,109
  • Administrative expenses$17,754
  • Total expenses$253,863
  • Net income$407,610
  • Net transfers$10,920,123
  • Net assets, end of year$11,327,733

Participants

  • Active participants171
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits13
  • Participants with account balances155
  • Total participants, end of year184

Fees and service providers

$18KSchedule C compensation to organisations$18K direct · $0 indirect
$96.49per participantsame-size median $194
0.16%of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
$18Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$96.49 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
CBIZ Investment Advisor Services LLInvestment advisory (plan)$12,718$0
Transamerica Retirement SolutionsClaims processing; Recordkeeping and information management; Investment management; Participant loan processing; Participant communication$5,036$0
National Financial ServicesSecurities brokerage$0$0
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.Securities brokerage$0$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Investment advisory and management fees$12,718
  • Recordkeeping fees$5,036
  • Total administrative expenses$17,754

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$9.5M · 84.2%
  • Common/collective trusts$994K · 8.8%
  • Participant loans$731K · 6.5%
  • Other investments$65K · 0.6%
  • Receivables$721 · 0.0%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$470 · 0.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondNo
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2RParticipant-directed brokerage accounts provided as an investment option under the plan
  • 2S401(k) plan or 403(b) plan that provides for automatic enrollment
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 212110: Coal Mining.

Other plans of Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC

PlanParticipantsNet assets
Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC Hourly Savings Plan431$12.7M

Similar plans in Alabama

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Drummond Company, Inc. Steelworkers 401(k) PlanDrummond Company, Inc.264$18.3M$69,226
Warrior Met Coal, Inc. Salaried 401(k) PlanWarrior Met Coal, Inc.613$56.0M$91,368
Nelson Brothers, Inc. Employee Capital Accumulation 401(k) PlanNelson Brothers, Inc.646$54.8M$84,890
Drummond Company, Inc. Savings Plan for Salaried EmployeesDrummond Company, Inc.734$126M$171,044
CMG Hourly 401(k) PlanVulcan Materials Company811$146M$179,795
Warrior Met Coal Mining, LLC Mine Site Hourly 401(k) PlanWarrior Met Coal Mining, LLC.877$12.0M$13,706

Defined contribution plans in mining closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC Retirement 401(k) Savings Plan?

184 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 171 were active employees, with net assets of $11,327,733. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 21,996 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC contribute per participant?

The filing reports $256,093 in employer contributions for the year, which is $1,498 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,447 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $17,754 in compensation to service provider organisations, $96.49 per participant or 0.16% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $194 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $17,754. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Crimson Oak Grove Resources, LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: Transamerica Retirement Solutions. Investment advisory or management: CBIZ Investment Advisor Services LL and Transamerica Retirement Solutions. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 16 Sep 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 10 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 85-1222574, plan 002, received 10 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.