My Plan Facts

California › Manufacturing › 250 to 499 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Nov 2024 to 31 Oct 2025

Castleberry's Food Company Retirement Plan

Sponsored by Bumble Bee Foods, LLC, San Diego, CA

defined benefit pension planfrozen plancollectively bargained

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$11.1Mnet assets, end of plan year−0% on the year
446participants13 active
$24,950net assets per participantsame-size median $87,254
—employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $11,032

Bumble Bee Foods, LLC of San Diego, California sponsors Castleberry's Food Company Retirement Plan, a defined benefit pension plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Oct 2025 shows 446 participants (13 active) and $11.1M in net assets.

Net assets came to $24,950 per participant, well below the $87,254 median for defined benefit plans with 250 to 499 participants and well below the $67,961 median for defined benefit plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Schedule C lists 1 service provider organisation paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $108K: $243 per participant, well below the same-size median of $413. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $167K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $4.8M in 2009 to $11.1M in 2024 (up 131%), and participants from 213 to 446 (up 109%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DB plans
Net assets per participant$24,950$87,254$67,961$86,221
Employer contributions per active participant—$11,032$6,915$10,244
Schedule C compensation per participant$243$413$299$344
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.97%0.51%0.47%0.42%
Administrative expenses per participant$375$596$498$527

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (873 plans), manufacturing (1,532) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2009: $4.8M2010: $4.8M2011: $5.4M2012: $6.1M2013: $6.4M2014: $6.0M2015: $5.8M2016: $10.3M2017: $9.7M2018: $10.7M2019: $10.7M2020: $12.5M2021: $9.1M2022: $9.1M2023: $11.2M2024: $11.1M$4.8M$12.5M$11.1M20092012201620202024
Net assets at year end
2009: 2132010: 2152011: 2122012: 2052013: 2032014: 2032015: 2002016: 2002017: 5012018: 4982019: 4922020: 4812021: 4752022: 4672023: 4582024: 44621350144620092012201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024446$11.1M$24,951——$108K
2023458$11.2M$24,380$1.0M—$94K
2022467$9.1M$19,465$767K—$94K
2021475$9.1M$19,139$101K—$101K
2020481$12.5M$26,000$485K—$88K
2019492$10.7M$21,689$410K$0$92K
2018498$10.7M$21,468$386K$0$92K
2017501$9.7M$19,433$391K$0$92K
2016200$10.3M$51,330$395K—$66K
2015200$5.8M$29,130$112K—$33K
2014203$6.0M$29,374$28K$0$30K
2013203$6.4M$31,399$237K$0$29K
2012205$6.1M$29,800$245K$0$60K
2011212$5.4M$25,283$518K$0$42K
2010215$4.8M$22,498$281K—$32K
2009213$4.8M$22,638$180K—$0

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$11,166,204
  • Employer contributions—
  • Participant contributions—
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$0
  • Total income, including investment results$764,277
  • Benefits paid$635,644
  • Administrative expenses$167,238
  • Total expenses$802,882
  • Net income−$38,605
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$11,127,599

Participants

  • Active participants13
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits175
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits232
  • Participants with account balances0
  • Total participants, end of year446

Fees and service providers

$108KSchedule C compensation to organisations$108K direct · $0 indirect
$243per participantsame-size median $413
0.97%of net assetssame-size median 0.51%
$167Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$375 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator$108,304$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$108,304
  • Other administrative expenses$58,934
  • Total administrative expenses$167,238

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Pooled separate accounts$11.1M · 100.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $5,000,000
  • Blackout period during the year—

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 1ABenefits are primarily pay related
  • 1IFrozen plan
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 311710: Seafood Product Preparation & Packaging.

Similar plans in California

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Metal Trades Industry Pension PlanMetal Trades Industry Pension Plan449$295K$657
Virco Mfg. Corporation Employees Retirement PlanVirco Mfg. Corporation437$20.7M$47,483
Gallo Pension Plan for Non-Union EmployeesGallo Vineyards, Inc.464$32.5M$70,039
Pacific Coast Shipyards Pension FundBoard of Trustees of the Pacific Coast Shipyards Pension Fund427$47.2M$110,460
Silgan Non-Union Pension PlanSilgan Containers Manufacturing Corporation506$158M$311,556
Tower Semiconductor Newport Beach, Inc. Retirement Plan for Hourly EmployeesTower Semiconductor Newport Beach, Inc.414$18.9M$45,662

Defined benefit plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Castleberry's Food Company Retirement Plan?

446 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Oct 2025, of whom 13 were active employees, with net assets of $11,127,599. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 873 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Bumble Bee Foods, LLC contribute per participant?

This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $108,304 in compensation to service provider organisations, $243 per participant or 0.97% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $413 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $167,238. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Bumble Bee Foods, LLC. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Nov 2024 to 31 Oct 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 17 Aug 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 58-1931051, plan 001, received 17 Aug 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.