Virginia › Health care and social assistance › 100 to 249 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Nov 2024 to 31 Oct 2025
Hematology Oncology Associates of Fredericksburg, Inc. Employees' Defined Benefit Plan
Sponsored by Hematology Oncology Assoc. of Fredericksburg, Inc., Fredericksburg, VA
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
Hematology Oncology Associates of Fredericksburg, Inc. Employees' Defined Benefit Plan is a cash balance pension plan sponsored by Hematology Oncology Assoc. of Fredericksburg, Inc. of Fredericksburg, Virginia. For the plan year ending 31 Oct 2025 it reported 152 participants, 108 of them active, and net assets of $11.0M.
Net assets came to $72,395 per participant, below the $80,635 median for defined benefit plans with 100 to 249 participants and above the $62,049 median for defined benefit plans in health care and social assistance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.
Employer contributions were $1.1M for the year ($10,464 per active participant) and benefits paid were $253K. In a defined benefit plan the employer's contribution follows funding rules rather than a match formula, so it can swing widely from year to year.
The filing reports no service provider compensation on Schedule C. That is common where fees are paid by the employer or taken from investment returns, neither of which appears there. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $0.
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DB plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | $72,395 | $80,635 | $62,049 | $86,221 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | $10,464 | $9,975 | $7,491 | $10,244 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | — | $451 | $248 | $344 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | — | 0.52% | 0.39% | 0.42% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | — | $582 | $427 | $527 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (1,156 plans), health care and social assistance (542) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Trend by plan year
| Plan year | Participants | Net assets | Per participant | Employer contributions | Participant contributions | Schedule C compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 152 | $11.0M | $72,395 | $1.1M | $0 | $0 |
| 2023 | 134 | $8.9M | $66,515 | $267K | $0 | $0 |
Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.
Statement for the year
- Net assets, beginning of year$8,913,093
- Employer contributions$1,130,163
- Participant contributions$0
- Rollovers and other contributions$0
- Total contributions$1,130,163
- Total income, including investment results$2,344,143
- Benefits paid$253,182
- Administrative expenses$0
- Total expenses$253,182
- Net income$2,090,961
- Net transfers$0
- Net assets, end of year$11,004,054
Participants
- Active participants108
- Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
- Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits44
- Total participants, end of year152
Fees and service providers
No service provider organisations are listed on Schedule C for this plan year.
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Investment structure
Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.
- Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$7.9M · 71.5%
- Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$1.8M · 16.4%
- Receivables$997K · 9.1%
- U.S. Government securities$337K · 3.1%
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
- Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
- Blackout period during the yearNo
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
1ABenefits are primarily pay related1CCash balance or similar plan
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 621111: Offices of Physicians (except mental health specialists).
Other plans of Hematology Oncology Assoc. of Fredericksburg, Inc.
| Plan | Participants | Net assets |
|---|---|---|
| Hematology Oncology Associates of Fredericksburg, Inc. Employees' 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan | 149 | $10.2M |
Similar plans in Virginia
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Oncology Associates, P. C. Cash Balance Plan | Virginia Oncology Associates, P.C. | 170 | $26.3M | $154,848 |
| Oncology & Hematology Associates of Southwest Virginia, Inc. Cash Balance Plan | Oncology & Hematology Associates of Southwest Virginia, Inc. | 148 | $8.7M | $59,021 |
| Norton Community Hospital Retirement Plan | Norton Community Hospital | 218 | $3.4M | $15,766 |
| Defined Benefit Pension Plan of the Arc of Greater Prince William/insight, Inc. | Arc of Greater Prince William/ Insight, Inc. | 252 | $8.7M | $34,420 |
| St. Mary's Home for Disabled Children Retirement Plan | St. Marys Home for Disabled Children | 453 | $26.7M | $59,018 |
| University of Virginia Physicians Group Clinicians Supplemental Retirement Plan | University of Virginia Physicians Group | 756 | $223M | $295,100 |
Defined benefit plans in health care and social assistance closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is Hematology Oncology Associates of Fredericksburg, Inc. Employees' Defined Benefit Plan?
152 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Oct 2025, of whom 108 were active employees, with net assets of $11,004,054. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 1,156 plans in plan year 2024.
What does Hematology Oncology Assoc. of Fredericksburg, Inc. contribute per participant?
The filing reports $1,130,163 in employer contributions for the year, which is $10,464 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $9,975 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
Schedule C reports no provider compensation for the year. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $0. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is Hematology Oncology Assoc. of Fredericksburg, Inc.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Nov 2024 to 31 Oct 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 17 Aug 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 54-1441458, plan 001, received 17 Aug 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.