California › Health care and social assistance › 250 to 499 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024
MD Revolution, Inc. Retirement Trust
Sponsored by MD Revolution, Inc., Solana Beach, CA
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
MD Revolution, Inc. Retirement Trust is a 401(k) plan sponsored by MD Revolution, Inc. of Solana Beach, California. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 it reported 405 participants, 100 of them active, and net assets of $12.4M.
Net assets came to $30,530 per participant, well below the $48,746 median for defined contribution plans with 250 to 499 participants and close to the $30,764 median for defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.
Schedule C lists 5 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $65K: $160 per participant, above the same-size median of $141. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $52K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DC plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | $30,530 | $48,746 | $30,764 | $53,102 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | — | $2,017 | $1,536 | $2,175 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | $160 | $141 | $93.85 | $123 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | 0.52% | 0.30% | 0.31% | 0.26% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | $129 | $133 | $86.53 | $116 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (17,456 plans), health care and social assistance (9,402) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Statement for the year
- Net assets, beginning of year$13,162,725
- Employer contributions—
- Participant contributions$178,629
- Rollovers and other contributions$2,321
- Total contributions$180,950
- Total income, including investment results$1,715,633
- Benefits paid$2,403,763
- Administrative expenses$52,420
- Total expenses$2,517,135
- Net income−$801,502
- Net transfers$3,342
- Net assets, end of year$12,364,565
Participants
- Active participants100
- Retired or separated, receiving benefits14
- Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits291
- Participants with account balances337
- Total participants, end of year405
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| Empower Annuity Insurance Company O | Recordkeeping fees | $23,047 | $0 |
| Alliant Insurance Services Inc. DBA | Investment advisory (plan) | $16,187 | $0 |
| Howard | Investment advisory (plan) | $14,676 | $0 |
| US Carenet Inc. | Accounting (including auditing) | $10,862 | $0 |
| Empower Advisory Group, LLC | Investment management | $54 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Administrative expenses on Schedule H
- Investment advisory and management fees$30,916
- IQPA audit fees$10,862
- Recordkeeping fees$10,642
- Total administrative expenses$52,420
Investment structure
Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.
- Pooled separate accounts$7.8M · 63.2%
- Insurance company general account$2.6M · 20.7%
- Common/collective trusts$1.5M · 11.8%
- Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$528K · 4.3%
- Participant loans$801 · 0.0%
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateYes, $21,147
- Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $1,000,000
- Blackout period during the yearNo
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
2EProfit-sharing plan2FERISA section 404(c) plan2GTotal participant-directed account plan2JCode section 401(k) feature2KCode section 401(m) arrangement2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account3DPre-approved pension plan
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 621900: Other Ambulatory Health Care Services (including ambulance services & blood & organ banks).
Similar plans in California
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mee Memorial Hospital 403(b) Plan | George L. Mee Memorial Hospital | 406 | $7.7M | $18,919 |
| Independent Options, Inc. Profit Sharing 401(k) Plan | Independent Options, Inc. | 403 | $8.0M | $19,885 |
| Sierra Vista Employee Retirement Plan | Sierra Vista Child and Family Services | 406 | $13.9M | $34,153 |
| 403(b) Thrift Plan for Employees of Community Hospice, Inc. | Community Hospice, Inc. | 402 | $21.4M | $53,329 |
| Pediatric Subspecialty Faculty, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan | Pediatric Subspecialty Faculty, Inc. | 406 | $201M | $494,080 |
| Montage Medical Group 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan & Trust | Montage Medical Group | 401 | $18.8M | $46,775 |
Defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is MD Revolution, Inc. Retirement Trust?
405 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 100 were active employees, with net assets of $12,364,565. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 17,456 plans in plan year 2024.
What does MD Revolution, Inc. contribute per participant?
This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
Schedule C reports $64,826 in compensation to service provider organisations, $160 per participant or 0.52% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $141 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $52,420. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is MD Revolution, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Empower Annuity Insurance Company O. Investment advisory or management: Alliant Insurance Services Inc. DBA, Howard and Empower Advisory Group, LLC. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 22 Sep 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 45-2485559, plan 001, received 22 Sep 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.