Iowa › Finance and insurance › 100 to 249 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Dec 2025
Emc National Life Company Employees Cash Balance Plan
Sponsored by Emc National Life Company, Des Moines, IA
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
Emc National Life Company of Des Moines, Iowa sponsors Emc National Life Company Employees Cash Balance Plan, a defined benefit pension plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025 shows 117 participants (66 active).
No Schedule H financial statement is attached to this filing, so asset, contribution and fee figures are not available for the year.
Compared with similar plans
| Measure, plan year 2024 | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DB plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | — | $80,635 | $119,983 | $86,221 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | — | $9,975 | $7,849 | $10,244 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | — | $451 | $352 | $344 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | — | 0.52% | 0.32% | 0.42% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | — | $582 | $433 | $527 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (1,156 plans), finance and insurance (690) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Trend by plan year
| Plan year | Participants | Net assets | Per participant | Employer contributions | Participant contributions | Schedule C compensation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 117 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2024 | 116 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2023 | 116 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2022 | 110 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2021 | 113 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2020 | 114 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2019 | 108 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2018 | 109 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2017 | 101 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2016 | 100 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2012 | 100 | — | — | — | — | — |
| 2009 | 101 | $5.3M | $52,871 | $450K | — | $6,000 |
Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| Empower Annuity Insurance Co. | Recordkeeping and information management; Investment management | $17,425 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted late—
- Covered by a fidelity bond—
- Blackout period during the year—
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
1ABenefits are primarily pay related3HPlan sponsor(s) is (are) a member(s) of a controlled group
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 524150: Direct Insurance (except Life, Health & Medical) Carriers.
Similar plans in Iowa
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Midwest Family Mutual Insurance Company Defined Benefit Pension Plan | Midwest Family Mutual Insurance Company | 200 | $20.1M | $100,325 |
| Imt Insurance Company Retirement Plan | Imt Insurance Company | 270 | $53.9M | $199,762 |
| Principal Pension Plan for Certain Former Agents | Principal Financial Group, Inc. | 273 | $26.8M | $98,283 |
| Grinnell Mutual Retirement Plan | Grinnell Mutual Reinsurance Company | 363 | $71.9M | $198,163 |
| Guideone Insurance Company Pension Plan | Guideone Insurance Company | 828 | $92.6M | $111,798 |
| Hawkeye Pension Plan | Hawkeye Insurance Association | 955 | $129M | $135,289 |
Defined benefit plans in finance and insurance closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is Emc National Life Company Employees Cash Balance Plan?
117 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2025, of whom 66 were active employees. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 1,156 plans in plan year 2024.
What does Emc National Life Company contribute per participant?
This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
No financial schedules are attached to this filing.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is Emc National Life Company. Recordkeeping or administration: Empower Annuity Insurance Co.. Investment advisory or management: Empower Annuity Insurance Co.. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2025 to 31 Dec 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 21 Aug 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 42-0868851, plan 001, received 21 Aug 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.