My Plan Facts

Illinois › Wholesale trade › 250 to 499 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Profit Sharing Plan for Employees of the Cary Company

Sponsored by The Cary Company, Addison, IL

401(k) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$18.5Mnet assets, end of plan year+10% on the year
315participants242 active
$58,776net assets per participantsame-size median $48,746
$0employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,017

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, Profit Sharing Plan for Employees of the Cary Company covered 315 participants and held $18.5M in net assets. The plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by The Cary Company of Addison, Illinois.

Net assets came to $58,776 per participant, above the $48,746 median for defined contribution plans with 250 to 499 participants and below the $65,557 median for defined contribution plans in wholesale trade. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $50 during the year, or $0 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,017; participants contributed $276K. Benefits paid out totalled $364K.

Schedule C lists 2 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $122K: $388 per participant, well above the same-size median of $141. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $122K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $13.9M in 2021 to $18.5M in 2024 (up 34%), and participants from 242 to 315 (up 30%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$58,776$48,746$65,557$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$0$2,017$2,107$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$388$141$153$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.66%0.30%0.27%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$386$133$147$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 250 to 499 participants (17,456 plans), wholesale trade (3,526) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2021: $13.9M2022: $14.6M2023: $16.8M2024: $18.5M$13.9M$18.5M2019202020222024
Net assets at year end
2019: 1072020: 1252021: 2422022: 2652023: 2942024: 3151073152019202020222024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024315$18.5M$58,778$0$276K$122K
2023294$16.8M$57,276$1.0M$250K$89K
2022265$14.6M$55,072$964K$96K$72K
2021242$13.9M$57,236$680K$116K$89K
2020125—————
2019107—————

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$16,838,698
  • Employer contributions$50
  • Participant contributions$276,077
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$276,127
  • Total income, including investment results$2,161,445
  • Benefits paid$364,092
  • Administrative expenses$121,538
  • Total expenses$485,630
  • Net income$1,675,815
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$18,514,513

Participants

  • Active participants242
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits5
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits68
  • Participants with account balances234
  • Total participants, end of year315

Fees and service providers

$122KSchedule C compensation to organisations$122K direct · $50 indirect
$388per participantsame-size median $141
0.66%of net assetssame-size median 0.30%
$122Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$386 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Robert W. Baird & Co., Inc.Other commissions$86,337$50
John HancockParticipant loan processing; Recordkeeping and information management$35,726$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$121,538
  • Total administrative expenses$121,538

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$18.2M · 98.5%
  • Common/collective trusts$279K · 1.5%
  • Participant loans$2,500 · 0.0%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateYes, $59,108
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 424950.

Similar plans in Illinois

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Dsi Holding USA Inc. Profit Sharing and Retirement PlanDsi Holding USA Inc.321$31.9M$99,509
Bystronic Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanBystronic Inc.312$22.4M$71,875
M. Holland Company 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan and TrustM. Holland Company324$68.3M$210,694
Quad Plus LLC Profit Sharing PlanQuad Plus LLC312$33.1M$106,117
Encore Repair Services LLC 401(k) PlanEncore Repair Services, LLC325$2.8M$8,554
Fedrigoni US Employee Savings & Retirement PlanGpa Acquisition Company, LLC303$22.5M$74,254

Defined contribution plans in wholesale trade closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Profit Sharing Plan for Employees of the Cary Company?

315 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 242 were active employees, with net assets of $18,514,513. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 250 to 499 participants band, which held 17,456 plans in plan year 2024.

What does The Cary Company contribute per participant?

The filing reports $50 in employer contributions for the year, which is $0 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,017 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $122,113 in compensation to service provider organisations, $388 per participant or 0.66% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $141 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $121,538. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is The Cary Company. Recordkeeping or administration: John Hancock. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 14 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 36-2358931, plan 002, received 14 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.