Illinois › Finance and insurance › 500 to 999 participants
Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Dec 2021
First Midwest Pooled Employer Plan
Sponsored by First Midwest Bank, Joliet, IL
Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.
First Midwest Pooled Employer Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by First Midwest Bank of Joliet, Illinois. For the plan year ending 31 Dec 2021 it reported 995 participants, 912 of them active. It is a multiple-employer plan covering the employees of more than one employer.
No Schedule H financial statement is attached to this filing, so asset, contribution and fee figures are not available for the year.
Compared with similar plans
| Measure | This plan | Same size | Same industry | All US DC plans |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net assets per participant | — | $46,267 | $92,294 | $53,102 |
| Employer contributions per active participant | — | $1,934 | $3,564 | $2,175 |
| Schedule C compensation per participant | — | $113 | $137 | $123 |
| Schedule C compensation, share of net assets | — | 0.25% | 0.17% | 0.26% |
| Administrative expenses per participant | — | $109 | $130 | $116 |
Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 500 to 999 participants (10,588 plans), finance and insurance (4,391) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.
Fees and service providers
| Organisation | Services reported | Direct | Indirect |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Midwest Bank | Trustee (directed) | $93,403 | $0 |
Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.
Audit and compliance answers, as filed
- Accountant's opinionNot stated
- Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
- Participant contributions reported as transmitted late—
- Covered by a fidelity bond—
- Blackout period during the year—
These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.
Plan characteristics
2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan2EProfit-sharing plan2FERISA section 404(c) plan2GTotal participant-directed account plan2JCode section 401(k) feature2KCode section 401(m) arrangement2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account2WMultiple-employer pension plan that is a pooled employer plan3DPre-approved pension plan
Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 522110: Commercial Banking.
Similar plans in Illinois
| Plan | Sponsor | Participants | Net assets | Per participant |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HBT Financial, Inc. Employees Profit Sharing Trust | HBT Financial, Inc. | 1,009 | $95.0M | $94,175 |
| Servbank 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan | Servbank | 964 | $31.1M | $32,232 |
| Chartis Group, LLC 401(k) Plan | The Chartis Group, LLC | 1,145 | $159M | $138,466 |
| First American Bank Corporation Employee Stock Ownership Plan | First American Bank Corporation | 960 | $89.5M | $93,241 |
| Midland States Bank 401(k) Profit Sharing Plan | Midland States Bank | 1,149 | $136M | $117,987 |
| National Production Workers Union 401(k) Retirement | The Board of Trustees of the National Production Workers Severan | 917 | $25.0M | $27,237 |
Defined contribution plans in finance and insurance closest in size.
Questions and answers
How big is First Midwest Pooled Employer Plan?
995 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2021, of whom 912 were active employees. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 500 to 999 participants band, which held 10,588 plans in plan year 2024.
What does First Midwest Bank contribute per participant?
This filing has no Schedule H financial statement, so employer contributions are not reported here.
What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?
No financial schedules are attached to this filing.
Who runs the plan?
The sponsor is First Midwest Bank. Recordkeeping or administration: First Midwest Bank. Trustee or custodian: First Midwest Bank. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.
Was the audit opinion unqualified?
The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.
How current is this, and does it show my balance?
This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Dec 2021, received by the Department of Labor on 22 May 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.
Provenance
Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 36-1495255, plan 001, received 22 May 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.