My Plan Facts

New Jersey › Manufacturing › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Westfalia Separator, Inc. Employees' Pension Plan

Sponsored by Gea Mechanical Equipment U.S. Inc., Northvale, NJ

defined benefit pension planfrozen plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$6.6Mnet assets, end of plan year+0% on the year
126participants12 active
$52,178net assets per participantsame-size median $80,635
$40,835employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $9,975

Gea Mechanical Equipment U.S. Inc. of Northvale, New Jersey sponsors Westfalia Separator, Inc. Employees' Pension Plan, a defined benefit pension plan. Its Form 5500 for the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024 shows 126 participants (12 active) and $6.6M in net assets.

Net assets came to $52,178 per participant, well below the $80,635 median for defined benefit plans with 100 to 249 participants and well below the $67,961 median for defined benefit plans in manufacturing. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

Employer contributions were $490K for the year ($40,835 per active participant) and benefits paid were $766K. In a defined benefit plan the employer's contribution follows funding rules rather than a match formula, so it can swing widely from year to year.

Schedule C lists 1 service provider organisation paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $45K: $357 per participant, well below the same-size median of $451. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $148K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $11.3M in 2016 to $6.6M in 2024 (down 42%), and participants from 167 to 126 (down 25%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DB plans
Net assets per participant$52,178$80,635$67,961$86,221
Employer contributions per active participant$40,835$9,975$6,915$10,244
Schedule C compensation per participant$357$451$299$344
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.69%0.52%0.47%0.42%
Administrative expenses per participant$1,176$582$498$527

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined benefit plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (1,156 plans), manufacturing (1,532) and all US plans (5,308). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2016: $11.3M2017: $11.6M2018: $10.6M2019: $11.0M2020: $11.1M2021: $9.9M2022: $7.1M2023: $6.6M2024: $6.6M$11.3M$11.6M$6.6M201620202024
Net assets at year end
2016: 1672017: 1632018: 1612019: 1512020: 1452021: 1382022: 1322023: 1292024: 126167126201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024126$6.6M$52,175$490K—$45K
2023129$6.6M$50,783$468K—$133K
2022132$7.1M$54,068$376K—$28K
2021138$9.9M$71,746$349K—$138K
2020145$11.1M$76,490$527K—$132K
2019151$11.0M$72,695$771K$0$30K
2018161$10.6M$66,137$609K$0$23K
2017163$11.6M$70,902$463K$0$27K
2016167$11.3M$67,952$303K$0$23K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$6,551,311
  • Employer contributions$490,025
  • Participant contributions—
  • Rollovers and other contributions—
  • Total contributions$490,025
  • Total income, including investment results$937,634
  • Benefits paid$766,339
  • Administrative expenses$148,131
  • Total expenses$914,470
  • Net income$23,164
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$6,574,475

Participants

  • Active participants12
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits61
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits46
  • Participants with account balances0
  • Total participants, end of year126

Fees and service providers

$45KSchedule C compensation to organisations$45K direct · $0 indirect
$357per participantsame-size median $451
0.69%of net assetssame-size median 0.52%
$148Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$1,176 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Principal Life Insurance CompanyContract Administrator; Investment advisory (plan)$45,034$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Other administrative expenses$103,097
  • Contract administrator fees$41,801
  • Investment advisory and management fees$3,233
  • Total administrative expenses$148,131

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$6.0M · 90.6%
  • Pooled separate accounts$460K · 7.0%
  • Receivables$155K · 2.4%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $1,000,000
  • Blackout period during the year—

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 1ABenefits are primarily pay related
  • 1IFrozen plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 333310: Commercial & Service Industry Machinery Mfg.

Similar plans in New Jersey

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
International Union of Tool Die and Mold Makers Pension PlanInternational Union of Tool Die and Mold Makers Pension Plan131−$2.5M—
Viscofan USA, Inc. Retirement PlanViscofan USA, Inc.124$12.3M$99,348
Engineered Precision Casting Company Retirement PlanEngineered Precision Casting Company137$15.7M$114,938
Retirement Plan for Non-Bargaining Employees of Ace Glass IncorporatedAce Glass Incorporated118$14.8M$125,825
South Jersey Labor & Management Pension FundSouth Jersey Labor & Management Pension Fund139$1.0M$7,307
Retirement Plan for Bargaining Employees of Ace Glass IncorporatedAce Glass Incorporated107$9.7M$91,062

Defined benefit plans in manufacturing closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Westfalia Separator, Inc. Employees' Pension Plan?

126 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 12 were active employees, with net assets of $6,574,475. Among defined benefit plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 1,156 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Gea Mechanical Equipment U.S. Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $490,025 in employer contributions for the year, which is $40,835 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $9,975 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $45,034 in compensation to service provider organisations, $357 per participant or 0.69% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $451 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $148,131. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Gea Mechanical Equipment U.S. Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Principal Life Insurance Company. Investment advisory or management: Principal Life Insurance Company. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 15 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 27-4109506, plan 001, received 15 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.