My Plan Facts

North Carolina › Construction › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025

Pedulla Excavating and Paving, INC.401(K) Profit Sharing Plan

Sponsored by Pedulla Excavating and Paving, Inc., Mooresville, NC

401(k) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$11.7Mnet assets, end of plan year+20% on the year
173participants115 active
$67,352net assets per participantsame-size median $60,185
$5,489employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

Pedulla Excavating and Paving, INC.401(K) Profit Sharing Plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Pedulla Excavating and Paving, Inc. of Mooresville, North Carolina. For the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025 it reported 173 participants, 115 of them active, and net assets of $11.7M.

Net assets came to $67,352 per participant, above the $60,185 median for defined contribution plans with 100 to 249 participants and above the $54,962 median for defined contribution plans in construction. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $631K during the year, or $5,489 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,447; participants contributed $381K and $118K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $300K.

Schedule C lists 3 service provider organisations paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $116K: $668 per participant, well above the same-size median of $194. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $116K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $6.8M in 2022 to $11.7M in 2024 (up 71%), and participants from 148 to 173 (up 17%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$67,352$60,185$54,962$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$5,489$2,447$2,728$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$668$194$162$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.99%0.32%0.33%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$668$176$166$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (21,996 plans), construction (4,204) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2022: $6.8M2023: $9.7M2024: $11.7M$6.8M$11.7M20222024
Net assets at year end
2022: 1482023: 1712024: 17314817320222024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024173$11.7M$67,353$631K$381K$116K
2023171$9.7M$56,725$1.1M$359K$0
2022148$6.8M$46,020$485K$339K$0

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$9,700,201
  • Employer contributions$631,198
  • Participant contributions$381,223
  • Rollovers and other contributions$117,860
  • Total contributions$1,130,281
  • Total income, including investment results$2,367,649
  • Benefits paid$300,461
  • Administrative expenses$115,500
  • Total expenses$415,961
  • Net income$1,951,688
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$11,651,889

Participants

  • Active participants115
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits0
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits58
  • Participants with account balances173
  • Total participants, end of year173

Fees and service providers

$116KSchedule C compensation to organisations$116K direct · $0 indirect
$668per participantsame-size median $194
0.99%of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
$116Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$668 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
John Hancock Life Insurance CompanyRecordkeeping and information management; Investment management$61,050$0
International Assets InvestmInvestment advisory (participants)$48,690$0
Plan Integrity Partners, LLCOther services$5,760$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Contract administrator fees$61,050
  • Investment advisory and management fees$48,690
  • Other administrative expenses$5,760
  • Total administrative expenses$115,500

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Pooled separate accounts$10.9M · 93.6%
  • Receivables$751K · 6.4%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 238900: Other Specialty Trade Contractors (including site preparation).

Similar plans in North Carolina

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Shelco, LLC 401(k) PlanShelco, LLC176$18.1M$102,718
Ruston Paving Employee Stock Ownership PlanRuston Paving Company, Inc.173——
Recore Employee Stock Ownership PlanRecore Electrical Contractors, Inc.178$107M$601,999
Caviness & Cates Building and Development 401(k)Caviness & Cates Building and167$6.5M$38,758
Andrew Roby, Inc. 401(k) PlanAndrew Roby, Inc.180$7.6M$42,070
Fitch Creations, Inc. 401(k) Profit Sharing PlanFitch Creations, Inc.164$16.9M$102,948

Defined contribution plans in construction closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Pedulla Excavating and Paving, INC.401(K) Profit Sharing Plan?

173 participants at the end of the plan year ending 30 Sep 2025, of whom 115 were active employees, with net assets of $11,651,889. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 21,996 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Pedulla Excavating and Paving, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $631,198 in employer contributions for the year, which is $5,489 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,447 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $115,500 in compensation to service provider organisations, $668 per participant or 0.99% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $194 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $115,500. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Pedulla Excavating and Paving, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: John Hancock Life Insurance Company. Investment advisory or management: John Hancock Life Insurance Company and International Assets Investm. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Oct 2024 to 30 Sep 2025, received by the Department of Labor on 8 Jul 2026. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 22-2767883, plan 001, received 8 Jul 2026; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.