My Plan Facts

Massachusetts › Health care and social assistance › 100 to 249 participants

Form 5500 statement · plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024

Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan

Sponsored by Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc., West Springfield, MA

401(k) plan

Form 5500 information is as filed by the plan administrator with the Department of Labor and may be amended. Figures reflect the plan year shown, not current balances. Form 5500 contains no individual account balances. Look up the original filing at EFAST2.

$80.3Mnet assets, end of plan year+1% on the year
141participants16 active
$569,813net assets per participantsame-size median $60,185
$161,548employer contributions per active participantsame-size median $2,447

In the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan covered 141 participants and held $80.3M in net assets. The plan is a 401(k) plan sponsored by Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc. of West Springfield, Massachusetts.

Net assets came to $569,813 per participant, well above the $60,185 median for defined contribution plans with 100 to 249 participants and well above the $30,764 median for defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance. The figure is an average across everyone in the plan, including former employees with small balances; Form 5500 holds no individual account data.

The employer contributed $2.6M during the year, or $161,548 per active participant against a same-size median of $2,447; participants contributed $2.1M and $42K arrived as rollovers and other contributions. Benefits paid out totalled $13.8M.

Schedule C lists 1 service provider organisation paid $5,000 or more, with reported compensation of $213K: $1,509 per participant, well above the same-size median of $194. Administrative expenses charged to the plan were $32K. Schedule C does not capture every cost: fees netted from fund returns and fees the employer pays directly are outside it.

Across the filings on record, net assets went from $31.8M in 2013 to $80.3M in 2024 (up 153%), and participants from 121 to 141 (up 17%).

Compared with similar plans

MeasureThis planSame sizeSame industryAll US DC plans
Net assets per participant$569,813$60,185$30,764$53,102
Employer contributions per active participant$161,548$2,447$1,536$2,175
Schedule C compensation per participant$1,509$194$93.85$123
Schedule C compensation, share of net assets0.27%0.32%0.31%0.26%
Administrative expenses per participant$230$176$86.53$116

Peer columns are medians for plan year 2024 across defined contribution plans with 100 or more participants: 100 to 249 participants (21,996 plans), health care and social assistance (9,402) and all US plans (63,460). Fee medians cover plans that report an amount.

Trend by plan year

2013: $31.8M2014: $36.3M2015: $38.3M2016: $43.2M2017: $51.1M2018: $47.4M2019: $56.9M2020: $66.6M2021: $71.5M2022: $65.8M2023: $79.9M2024: $80.3M$31.8M$80.3M2013201620202024
Net assets at year end
2013: 1212014: 1252015: 1372016: 1342017: 1452018: 1432019: 1492020: 1422021: 1422022: 1512023: 1512024: 1411211511412013201620202024
Participants at year end
Plan yearParticipantsNet assetsPer participantEmployer contributionsParticipant contributionsSchedule C compensation
2024141$80.3M$569,816$2.6M$2.1M$213K
2023151$79.9M$529,079$2.8M$2.1M$183K
2022151$65.8M$435,649$5.3M$2.0M$191K
2021142$71.5M$503,690$551K$2.0M$186K
2020142$66.6M$468,725$4.3M$1.8M$157K
2019149$56.9M$381,866$2.5M$1.8M$143K
2018143$47.4M$331,476$2.6M$1.7M$151K
2017145$51.1M$352,621$2.6M$1.8M$137K
2016134$43.2M$322,104$2.4M$1.7M$113K
2015137$38.3M$279,453$2.3M$1.7M$108K
2014125$36.3M$290,400$1.9M$1.7M$70K
2013121$31.8M$262,488$1.2M$1.5M$59K

Years in which the plan filed the full Form 5500 with 100 or more participants, from 2009. Plan year is the year in which the plan year began.

Statement for the year

  • Net assets, beginning of year$79,890,816
  • Employer contributions$2,584,770
  • Participant contributions$2,102,769
  • Rollovers and other contributions$42,454
  • Total contributions$4,729,993
  • Total income, including investment results$14,261,337
  • Benefits paid$13,776,108
  • Administrative expenses$32,465
  • Total expenses$13,808,573
  • Net income$452,764
  • Net transfers$0
  • Net assets, end of year$80,343,580

Participants

  • Active participants16
  • Retired or separated, receiving benefits2
  • Retired or separated, entitled to future benefits123
  • Participants with account balances125
  • Total participants, end of year141

Fees and service providers

$213KSchedule C compensation to organisations$213K direct · $0 indirect
$1,509per participantsame-size median $194
0.27%of net assetssame-size median 0.32%
$32Kadministrative expenses charged to the plan$230 per participant
OrganisationServices reportedDirectIndirect
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and SRecordkeeping and information management$212,821$0

Schedule C, Part I line 2: providers that received $5,000 or more, with the form's own service codes. Individuals named on Schedule C (plan employees, individual trustees) are never shown and their compensation is excluded. Eligible indirect compensation disclosed by formula carries no dollar amount. See how to read Schedule C fees.

Administrative expenses on Schedule H

  • Other administrative expenses$32,465
  • Total administrative expenses$32,465

Investment structure

Assets at year end by Schedule H category. The form shows the kind of vehicle holding the money, not the funds on the menu.

  • Registered investment companies (mutual funds)$38.5M · 47.9%
  • Other investments$38.0M · 47.3%
  • Receivables$2.6M · 3.2%
  • Common/collective trusts$829K · 1.0%
  • Cash (interest and non-interest bearing)$262K · 0.3%
  • Participant loans$132K · 0.2%

Audit and compliance answers, as filed

  • Accountant's opinionNot stated
  • Audit scope limited under ERISA section 103(a)(3)(C)—
  • Participant contributions reported as transmitted lateNo
  • Covered by a fidelity bondYes, $500,000
  • Blackout period during the yearNo

These are the plan administrator's own answers on Schedule H, Part IV. A reported late transmittal is the filer's disclosure of a timing lapse, usually corrected through the Department of Labor's voluntary program; the amount is the total involved, not a loss.

Plan characteristics

  • 2AAge/service weighted or new comparability or similar plan
  • 2EProfit-sharing plan
  • 2FERISA section 404(c) plan
  • 2GTotal participant-directed account plan
  • 2JCode section 401(k) feature
  • 2KCode section 401(m) arrangement
  • 2RParticipant-directed brokerage accounts provided as an investment option under the plan
  • 2TTotal or partial participant-directed account plan with a default investment account
  • 3DPre-approved pension plan

Codes entered on Form 5500 line 8a, with the labels from the official instructions. Business code 621111: Offices of Physicians (except mental health specialists).

Similar plans in Massachusetts

PlanSponsorParticipantsNet assetsPer participant
Premier Diagnostic Services, Inc. 401(k) PlanPremier Diagnostic Services, Inc.142$13.5M$95,215
Hmea Retirement PlanHorace Mann Educational Associates, Inc. DBA Hmea140$3.5M$24,753
Pioneer Spine and Sports Physicians P.C. 401(k) Plan and TrustPioneer Spine and Sports Physicians P.C.143$19.7M$138,089
Neurocare, Inc. 401(k) PlanNeurocare, Inc.140——
Community Servings, Inc. Defined Contribution 403(b) Retirement PlanCommunity Servings, Inc.145$6.1M$41,748
New England Dermatology, P.C. 401(k) Plan and TrustNew England Dermatology, P.C.139$25.3M$182,175

Defined contribution plans in health care and social assistance closest in size.

Questions and answers

How big is Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc. 401(k) Savings Plan?

141 participants at the end of the plan year ending 31 Dec 2024, of whom 16 were active employees, with net assets of $80,343,580. Among defined contribution plans that places it in the 100 to 249 participants band, which held 21,996 plans in plan year 2024.

What does Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc. contribute per participant?

The filing reports $2,584,770 in employer contributions for the year, which is $161,548 per active participant; the median for plans of the same type and size was $2,447 in plan year 2024. Form 5500 reports the total only. It does not state the match formula, and the per-participant figure is an average, not any one person's contribution.

What fees does the plan pay and how do they compare?

Schedule C reports $212,821 in compensation to service provider organisations, $1,509 per participant or 0.27% of net assets. The same-size median among plans reporting any Schedule C compensation was $194 per participant. Administrative expenses on Schedule H were $32,465. Investment costs deducted inside mutual funds and other pooled vehicles are not itemised on Form 5500, so these figures are a floor rather than a full cost.

Who runs the plan?

The sponsor is Springfield Anesthesia Service, Inc.. Recordkeeping or administration: Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner and S. Form 5500 also names the plan administrator's signer and other individuals; this site publishes organisations only.

Was the audit opinion unqualified?

The filing does not state an accountant's opinion type.

How current is this, and does it show my balance?

This is the Form 5500 for the plan year 1 Jan 2024 to 31 Dec 2024, received by the Department of Labor on 14 Oct 2025. Filings are due seven months after the plan year ends, or nine and a half with an extension, so the public record always runs a year or more behind. It contains plan-level totals only: no individual balances, contributions or names of participants exist in the data.

Provenance

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration, Form 5500 research files (Form 5500, Schedule H, Schedule C) for plan years 2009 to 2025, public domain, with filings received through 24 Aug 2026. This page shows the latest filing on record for EIN 04-2390028, plan 001, received 14 Oct 2025; an amended filing replaces it at the next build. Medians and percentiles are computed by this site; see the methodology. Report an error through corrections.